Brrrrrgers–addendum

In light of the responses I’ve had from my post about winter grilling, I’d like to share my burger recipe with you.  I usually grill steaks a few times in winter, but cold-weather burgers, hitherto a rarity, were a full success, so here’s how I do it:   Make thick 1/3-lb. patties with 85% lean ground beef.  Rub liquid smoke (I prefer mesquite, but hickory is also good) generously onto the surface of each patty and sprinkle with garlic powder, rubbed sage, and pepper.  Turn them over and repeat.  Grill over a hot charcoal fire until the patty surfaces are almost charred and the juices just run clear.  Every time you turn them, pour beer (I prefer Busch for this) onto them as soon as you’ve turned them over; this keeps them really juicy on the inside.  When they’re nearly done, place enough cheese on the patties to cover them (I prefer Jarlsberg Swiss; CD prefers sharp cheddar).  Put the burger buns on the grill, with the cut surfaces down, for about 15 seconds to lightly toast.  03-01-07 25-AServe with Romaine lettuce, sweet onion slices (Vidalia if you can find one), and generous tomato slices, mayonnaise and mustard (I prefer Dijon, CD yellow).  I find salt unnecessary, but suit yourself.  Also homemade potato chips.  Best drinks to accompany the burgers are India Pale Ale and Argentinian (e.g., Alamos) Malbec.  Bon appétit!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brrrrrgers–addendum

  1. Vicki says:

    Sounds delicious.
    Love the image. Even though it’s dated 2007, it sure seems to fit the bill.

    • krikitarts says:

      Scenes like this are timeless, infrequently as they may occur. And, yes, they are delicious, prepared in this way. Please give it a try and let me know what you think!

  2. Truels says:

    Sounds nice with the brrrrrrgers – although I prrrrrefer not to grill in winter time…..
    The photo is great – incredible with so much snow everywhere!

    • krikitarts says:

      Perhaps I can inspire you to change your mind about winter grilling. You won’t be sorry. And thanks for the compliment–that was indeed an extraordinary snowfall!

  3. seekraz says:

    Burger recipe aside, that’s one gorgeous photograph…wow!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Sounds delicious, you’re making me hungry – and I’ve never heard of liquid smoke! :-D

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s a wonderful invention, and I recommend it most highly. It’s well worth hunting down–try high-end grocery stores that carry imported specialties. When you find it, let me know how you like it. It’s also great added to barbecue sauce.

Leave a Reply

