Webnesday (72)

One of my favorite spiders visited me in my work shed the other day and when I transferred it to the garden, it was apparently quite happy to explore a handy flower for long enough to make for a pretty good photo session. It’s a Holoplatys apressus, and one of the smallest I’ve seen (the diameter of the white flower is about 2 centimeters, about ¾ of an inch). This genus is unique in that the extremely low-profile body shape permits them to squeeze into unbelievably small spaces, which has earned them the common name of “flattened” jumping spiders. This species is endemic to New Zealand and is commonly found under the bark of manuka and kanuka trees, as well as on driftwood, which has led to theories that their ancestors may have “rafted” here from Australia, where there are many more species (at least 38 are reported on the iNaturalist website). I see them on the walls of my shed about once a month, on the average, and they are very shy. I’ve featured them on this website twice before, back in 2020—here and here.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Webnesday (72)

  1. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the first photo, where the elongated spider seems to extend the lines running through the flower’s petal. Of course the eyes have it, as they so often do in these critters, and in the last photo there’s that typical pose. Great photos!

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wonderful pictures, Gary! :)

  3. Platypus Man says:

    What a fine looking creature, well captured by your images.

  4. That’s is a real beauty, Gary. Super shots as always!

  5. Great shots of a very cute spider, Gary. Glad to see another post from you.

    • krikitarts says:

      Other things seem to keep getting in the way of posting, and I’m trying to correct that, but there are so many. I appreciate the positive comment and the encouragement very much, Steve.

  6. bluebrightly says:

    Ah, it’s hopeless,, as much as I admire what you’re doing here, my reaction is always an automatic “Eek!” – sad, isn’t it? ;-)

    • krikitarts says:

      You gave me a good laugh, Lynn. I fully understand that their appeal is far from universal, but at least you’re keeping up your sense of humor, so I don’t think it’s really hopeless!

  7. Fine shots of this talented little spider!

    • krikitarts says:

      They really are talented, in their way. I am often amazed at the acuity of their sight and their uncanny ability to jump huge (relative) distances with such accuracy. Thanks!

Leave a comment