Webnesday (69)

Just a few days ago I was cleaning out weeds from the back-yard garden, and as I was putting the culled Kikuyu grass into the green bin, this little Bronze Aussie Jumper (Helpis minitabunda) appeared and offered an opportunity for me to transfer her back to the garden, via a handy flower.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Webnesday (69)

  1. What a beauty! Lovely colours and superb photos!

  2. While the pandemic has kept you from the land of Minnehaha, it didn’t keep you from an encounter with this minitabunda. You’ll have to tell us if it abounded for more than a minute before you relocated it.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m bound to admit that I grabbed a transfer vessel (the size of an old 35mm film canister) as promptly as possible, which was a matter of only half a minute or so, and she didn’t seem to mind the procedure at all, and looked happy to participate in the adventure. And, yes, many ha-has in the process.

  3. shoreacres says:

    Is that bit of orange on her head some pollen? It certainly looks like it might have come from the flower — accidental pollination at its best! That aside, the flower’s gorgeous, and the spider’s a cutie.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yep, that’s pollen, doing exactly what it was designed for. I totally agree with your descriptor of the spider–I’m always delighted when they happen to come my way.

  4. I almost purloined Webnesday for the second time but thought better of it and glad that I did. I’ve started Spidurday and will keep it that way (I did do one Webnesday in your absence). I especially like the last with her pedipalps hanging over the edge and looking us in the eye.

    • krikitarts says:

      I like the way Spidurday feels when I say it out loud. She was pretty cooperative, but jumped off the flower just a few seconds after that last image. She was obviously scoping out her ideal landing spot.

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wonderful pictures, Gary! :)

    • krikitarts says:

      It was a treat to be able to share some quality time with her, even though it was only a few minutes. There seem to be fewer of them around this year–or maybe I’m just not looking closely enough. Must try to be more diligent.

  6. An attractive spider on a lovely flower. Very nice!

Leave a comment