Webnesday (41)

It’s been almost three months since my last Webnesday post. There hasn’t been much spider activity in Nebraska or Minnesota since then, but I’ve been back in New Zealand for four days and it’s summer here. One of my very favorite spider species is the magnificent Trite planiceps 1030642Trite planiceps, and I’ve found two so far on this trip. I made these studies of the second one, as it was prowling the leaves of a large agapanthus. It has a leg span of approximately 3/4 inch (about 2 cm). I hope to find many more during my remaining five weeks here! 1030645crps-postI know it’s actually Thursday here, as I post this, but thanks to the International Date Line, it’s (nearly) still Webnesday back at home–may I stretch the point a bit?

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Webnesday (41)

  1. Time difference excused….:-)

  2. Hooray for the spider, boo for the agapanthus, which is an invasive nuisance over there.

    Where in NZ are you and how long will you be there?

    • krikitarts says:

      Yeah, we know very well that they’re invasive. I’m not celebrating their presence, but I can’t ignore them, and they sure are photogenic. And, as they provide a great source of sustenance for the delta-winged leafhoppers (which are probably also invasive and which I plan to present in a future post, because they’re so cool), the spiders benefit as well.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The detail in that second photo’s so good. I enjoyed what I interpreted as an appraising look in the spider’s eye, particularly.

    • krikitarts says:

      I thank you for the kind compliment, Linda! Yes, it’s so tempting–and so much fun–to imagine anthropomorphoid visages on the wee folk that I find myself doing it frequently. Indeed, how could one not?

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    You can certainly stretch the point, sir! Fine photos – what a beast indeed! A

    • krikitarts says:

      I appreciate your point-stretch allowance, Adrian, and promise to try to stay within my own parameters for my next Webnesday post. And I heartily agree with you–I find these tiny, two-toned terrors endlessly fascinating!

Leave a Reply

