Christmas, clearly

It is with new eyes that I prepare this post, and I am more delighted than I can adequately express to be able to say that I am seeing everything more clearly than I have in many years.  My second old, deteriorated lens was replaced with a new prosthetic one yesterday, and I heard today, during my post-surgical evaluation, that my progress is nothing short of excellent.  I have so much to be grateful for at this time that I will not even attempt (at this time) to recount them here.  Suffice it to say that, when I put all that the year has brought into the balance, the positive side easily outweighs the negative.

6575And so it is with profound pleasure that I wish you all the happiest of holidays and the very best for the new year–and yes, we have a (partially) white Christmas!

6544

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Christmas, clearly

  1. Emily Gooch says:

    Hi Gary, it has been a while since I last visited your blog. Beautiful images as always. It looks like you and I have the same thoughts about how to see life. When all is said and done, the positives definitely outweighs the negatives. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas and another wonderful New year full of opportunities. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Oh, Emily, how good it is to hear from you again! I sincerely hope that all is going well for you and that your fortune has continued on its path for the better. Please keep in touch, and have a most productive new year, and a big warm hug from me.

  2. So delighted to hear such a positive outcome!!! I hope you and your family have a perfectly wonderful Christmas and that you enjoy all the beauty around you through your “new” eyes :).

  3. seekraz says:

    Wonderful news, Gary…I hope your recovery continues at this speedy pace….and happy Christmas to you. :)

  4. ehpem says:

    Great news, and all the best for an even better New Year (if you can top an improvement in vision which might be tough).

    • krikitarts says:

      That will be hard to beat for sure, but I have a number of other irons in the fire that have me very excited indeed. I expect a wonderful New Year here, and wish you the same!

  5. Mike Powell says:

    What could be better for a photographer than to see the world with new eyes, to have a new vision? Seriously, Gary, I am happy to hear that things are going well with the eye surgery and that you are recovering well. Merry Christmas and best wishes for a happy, healthy new year.

    • krikitarts says:

      It’s hard to imagine what might be better. Things are so bright and clear, I’m in a constant state of awe at this beautiful world around me. Hope your Christmas was fantastic!

  6. Meanderer says:

    That’s wonderful news, Gary. I hope you and your family are having a super Christmas!

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Hi Gary, glad to hear of your good visual progress! I very much like the lower picture here – very simple, Minimal, very beautiful! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      I am nothing short of delighted with the progress–it just keeps getting better each day, and it’s a constant source of wonder. I made that second shot while I still had one old lens, and I could see the subject so much more clearly with the new one. What a treat!

  8. So glad to hear it all went well for you. All the very best for 2014!

  9. krikitarts says:

    Thanks a lot, Alicia; hope you have a great New Year, too!

  10. Your photo of the leaf in the snow is so gorgeous…Have a wonderful holiday season, enjoy it all thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

