My stars!

Only a little time lag here from the event to my account—a couple of weeks, in fact, but in astronomical terms it’s less than a nano-second!  We were up at our lake cabin during the Perseid meteor shower, and I took the time to spend a couple of hours out on the dock during the night of August 12-13, experimenting with different settings.  I had the best luck with my Sigma 10-20 mm lens at its widest setting and 25-second exposures at ISO 6400 and f/6.3.  I made something over 100 exposures and caught meteor trails in three of them.  Here is my favorite.  (Please click on the photo for a higher-resolution image.)

Perseid meteor 12766

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Night Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My stars!

  1. emilycd says:

    Fantastic photo!!

  2. krikitarts says:

    Good to hear from you, Emily–and thanks a lot!

  3. Winnie says:

    That sky leaves me breathless.

    • krikitarts says:

      And me, too. Even when no meteors are predicted, I love to sit (or better yet, lie) and gaze up and meditate. It’s well worth the 15-20 minutes it takes for your eyes to really adjust.

  4. Finn says:

    Awesone shot Gary, that sky is absolutely spectacular (I guess there’s little or no light pollution up in the lakes). I’ve seen lots of long exposures with meteor streaks but no stars, but your short exposure has also captured the rest of the universe. And you got the silhouetted trees too. I love it.

    • krikitarts says:

      I went with the relatively-short exposure to try to avoid star trails from the earth’s rotation so all my stars would be pinpoints. I was getting hardly anything at lower ISOs, so I cranked it up pretty much all the way. It gave me a fair bit of noise as a result, but at 300% magnification it was easy to tell which bright spots were artefacts so I could eliminate them. So pleased you like it, too!

  5. Mike Powell says:

    What an amazing job in capturing the starry night sky and the meteor trails are a bonus. Living in the suburbs of a metropolitan area, I am not used to seeing a sky like that and I appreciate your patience and willingness to experiment with settings to be able to share its beauty with the rest of us.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve been there myself for longer than I care to remember. I worked in DC twice, the first time for 7 years and the last for 2-1/2. And I really missed the stars. Thanks a lot, Mike!

  6. Awesome job Gary – I never even thought of doing that, although I was outside watching. When I look at this shot, the first thing that comes to mind is how the heck could people possibly think we are alone in this universe? :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Oh, Cindy, you sure are a girl after me own heart! I’ve been a believer for as long as I can remember (a natural progression of being a sci-fi fan since jr. high), and one of my fondest hopes is that i’m still around for the first real contact.

      • No wonder we get along so well :). I have always been fascinated by concepts such as this, and my mind is always open to consider the possibilities (that’s why I like sci-fi and fantasy too). For instance, pulling one off the top of my head, what about the theory that maybe other beings helped with the building of the pyramids. Could that have happened? I don’t know, but it sure gets the mind whirling doesn’t it? It’s good to challenge the brain with different possibilities isn’t it?

  7. Magnificent, Gary! It’s always so nice to have the time to experiment. This is a spectacular shot.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yup, it does take some time, but what could be better than a couple of quiet, meditative hours immersed in wonder, awe, and hope? Any really-good shot is just an added bonus!

  8. wolke205 says:

    Wunderschön!!!! Einfach nur wunderschön!!! ♥

  9. seekraz says:

    Truly wonderful, Gary…wow!

  10. settleandchase says:

    How wonderful..

  11. MikeP says:

    Gary… I was in Jackson Hole at the beginning of Aug and saw my first live Milky Way. Living were I do in Jersey… so much light pollution… I never knew there were so many stars. It was almost overload for me. Thanks for bringing the meteor shower up close for me :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      You are so welcome, Mike. It is really magic to be able to contemplate the Milky Way from somewhere that’s really clear. We can get some crystal nights here, but I think the best I’ve seen was from western Nebraska or from a ranch near Gallatin Gateway, Montana. It was great fun shooting this, and I will certainly try again.

  12. Adrian Lewis says:

    Really beautiful image, Gary, wonderful! Adrian

Leave a Reply

