Serenity Sunday: Rainy Relief

It’s been unseasonably cold with lots of rain and wind for the past several days, and during a relative break in the otherwise steady downpour, I went out into the shelter of the cubby where our outdoor swing lives, set up my little tripod, and made this shot of our wonderful anemones, which have appeared in greater numbers than we’ve ever seen them before.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Rainy Relief

  1. shoreacres says:

    I was surprised to read “anemones,” and then see such a tall flower. I’m accustomed to our natives, which are much closer to the ground. I like the way yours nod. Is that a characteristic of the flower, or a result of the rain weighting them down?

    • krikitarts says:

      Hi, Linda, ours are snowdrop anemones, Anemone silvestra. The blossoms on the tallest ones are 17 inches above the ground (I just went out in the renewed drizzle and measured them). I have just learned that there are some 200 species, so it’s not at all surprising that there’s considerable variation in traits such as stem length. And yes, I made the photo in the rain; I’d actually hoped, on the one hand to to catch some obviously-falling heavier rain within the zone of focus, but when I got in position, they were bobbing around so freely that it seemed better to wait for a lull so there would be some detail in the flowers. If we get more heavy rain, maybe I’ll try again!

  2. I can relate to your comment about the weather. When we were in Kansas City two weeks ago we’d planned to continue north through Nebraska to South Dakota, but forecasts of wind, cold, overcast, rain, and even snow up there deterred us and we turned back.

Leave a Reply

