Menagerie Monday (6): Friendly Photophile

It is my general policy, when I encounter outdoor critters in the house, to help them back to the natural environment in which they should be more comfortable. Just the day before yesterday I met a tiny mantis in Batty’s house, that had apparently climbed in through an mantis 3529open window. When I carefully guided it onto my hand for transfer, it climbed onto the camera I was holding, whereupon I carefully set the camera down and took advantage of this fortunate opportunity to fetch a different camera to use for this portrait shot. Mantis 2180584But before I did, in order to give you an even better impression of its size, I carefully offered it the chance to explore my other camera as well, and it seemed only too happy do so. And then, after our brief session, I carried it back out to the garden again and let it go.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Menagerie Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Menagerie Monday (6): Friendly Photophile

  1. Meanderer says:

    Gosh – it is tiny! Lovely and quirky creatures :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      Right you are, M, they’re quite easy to miss, and it’s a treat when I find one. This one was 2-3 times as big as it was when it hatched. New hatchlings are very hard to find!

  2. shoreacres says:

    I rarely see one of these, but they do seem to be pleasant and sociable — unless you happen to qualify as prey, of course. I had to laugh at you taking its photo on a camera. That’s right amusing.

    • krikitarts says:

      I think that, like jumping spiders, during macro work, they may recognize their reflection in the front element of the camera lens as a fellow (or maybe as a rival) and hop over to have a closer look. I like to think so, anyway.

Leave a Reply

