Menagerie Monday (5): Cicadian Rhythms

No, that’s not a typo in my title. I’m enjoying having stepped into summer again, here in New Zealand, and one of the essential songs of summer for me is that of the cicada. Cicada 2120449 It has been warm enough that the local cicadas have been serenading us with their rhyth- mic, buzzing songs, and this afternoon one flew onto Batty’s deck and settled on a fern. Cicada 2120466It remained calm for long enough for me to do a few portrait shots. What a beauty!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Menagerie Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Menagerie Monday (5): Cicadian Rhythms

  1. Summer again….lucky you. Though I suppose we cannot complain its February and in our little corner of the world real winter hasn’t arrived and indeed we do have just a few signs of spring. I wonder if the traditional season rhythm will ever return :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, I do consider myself lucky! We’ve had a few warm days, but most days long pants and sleeves are in order. The weather has been mostly very kind to us. But I definitely share your concern about traditional seasons changing, and not for the better.

  2. Vicki says:

    Great shots, Gary.
    Those close-ups of a cicada are like looking into a machine. Amazing.

  3. Terrific shot, such a brilliant green! Nice infusion of colour on a snowy winter day here.

  4. laura lecce says:

    Fantastic photos! I’ve never seen a cicada in such beautiful dark greens and with little red jewels on its forehead!

    • krikitarts says:

      Cicadas actually have five eyes. Apart from the typical two obvious, large compound eyes, the three jewel-like eyes, situated in a triangle between the larger eyes, are called “ocelli,” and are believed to help them to detect shades of light and darkness. Cool, huh?

  5. shoreacres says:

    Your photos evoked a series of questions: Are Texas cicadas green? (yes, some are) Why haven’t I ever seen one? (try looking more closely) Well, what am I seeing then? (the empty, brown shell — exoskeleton — of a cicada in the process of growing up). Your photos make me eager for cicada season. I’d like to see one of these for myself: especially the ocelli.

    What I don’t see, I do hear. Here’s my cicada haiku:

    cicadas thrumming
    summer’s white noise droning on
    silence of the trees

Leave a Reply

