Webnesday (42)

My photo angel, Frances, has been very good to me.  As I indicated in my last Webnesday post a week ago, I have been hoping for another close encounter with one of my favorite arachnids, Trite (rhymes with “mighty”) planiceps, aka the black-headed jumping spider. Trite planiceps 2060295There are some 150 species of jumping spiders in New Zealand, and this one is, I’ve been happy to find, quite common. This little fellow caught my attention yesterday and volunteered for a photo session that lasted the better part of an hour. I believe that this was a male, as it had a row of dark hairs above its frontal eyes. Actually, he wasn’t all that Trite planiceps 2060268little—in fact, they are rather large, as jumping spiders go, with a leg span of about 3/4 of an inch, or about 2 cm.  He was very cooperative and tolerant of my intimate interest, and became comfortable enough with my proximity that he jumped onto my camera lens, probably because he saw his reflection and decided to meet the new handsome neighbor. Trite planiceps 2060351The flowering plant in my first two images, Crocosmia, is another non-native one, another immigrant indigenous to the grasslands of southern and eastern Africa, and the violet one in the background of the third is an Agapanthus praecox, which I featured in my last post. The Crocosmia are considered only mildly invasive here, and are also found in the eastern United States (where they are known as coppertips or falling stars) and in the UK (known as montbretia). I have seen them growing wild in the Big Sur area of California.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Webnesday (42)

  1. Vicki says:

    Excellent images.
    (Frances was very kind with the lighting too).

  2. Hello again! Great shots – he’s a beautiful colour :)

  3. laura lecce says:

    I absolutely love that last photo with the pale purple background, the spider is so sharp and it’s a fantastic angle! I’ve only met one jumping spider and he was most uncooperative and I didn’t get a single photo…. I hope to meet another one some day.

    • krikitarts says:

      I seem to find them pretty much wherever I go; the trick is to narrow your vision to look for reeeally small critters, around the size of ants. Most jumping spiders are quite tiny and, if they are not moving, very hard to spot. I hope you meet a few, too–and please let me know when you do!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    I’m truly in awe of your knowledge of spiders, my friend – “a row of dark hairs above its frontal eyes”? – wonderful! A

    • krikitarts says:

      I freely admit that I learned that only very shortly before I wrote up the post, when I Googled the spider’s name. As I’ve written about them several times already, I have learned quite a bit, but I’d forgotten how to tell the genders apart. And now I know!

  5. shoreacres says:

    The intricacy of spiders is compelling, isn’t it? I’ve not yet learned how to get such crisp photos of the little guys and gals, but that makes me appreciate yours even more. It’s fun to really look at them, detail by detail.

    When I read “Crocosmia,” it reminded me of a blogger I follow from the Los Angeles area. I think I’ve seen her mention that plant on her blog. When you added that you’ve seen them in the state, it makes it seem fairly certain.

    • krikitarts says:

      There are really only three essential elements to do these macro tricks. The first, of course, is macro capability. Many pocket-sized compact cameras have excellent macro capabilities, an inexpensive alternative to a dedicated macro lens for a big SLR (I made these with my new Olympus Stylus Tough TG-4). The second is either a tripod or a solid surface on which you can rest the camera in close proximity to your subject. The third is a considerable bit of patience (and a little bit of luck)!

  6. wolke205 says:

    Frances meint es immer gut mit Dir :D Mit mir allerdings weniger, mir wird immer noch ganz anders, wenn ich Deine Spinnen-Fotos hier entdecke. Dennoch finde ich sie alle wunderschön :) Liebe Grüße

Leave a Reply

