Thoughts for Thanksgiving

I considered revisiting some of the images I’ve made of the local turkeys that occasionally prowl our neighborhood, but then I had another thought. Back in 2008, during a work trip to Australia, I was exploring a forest path near Noosa, Queensland, when I saw this brush scrub-turkey-08-16-08turkey walking cautiously through the underbrush. It was pretty shy and the light was so poor that I had to use my on-camera flash, but I managed to get this one fairly clear view before it disappeared back out of sight. I doubt that the Australians have embraced Thanksgiving, but hey–a turkey’s a turkey, right? Anyway, happy turkey day, everyone!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thoughts for Thanksgiving

  1. wolke205 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving :)

  2. shoreacres says:

    What an unusual bird — ours are handsome, but this one is flat flashy! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Just don’t let the day end without joining the chorus of one of the best Thanksgiving songs ever. I suspect you know it!

  3. What an amazing looking turkey. Great photo!

  4. Vicki says:

    You were lucky to get such a great shot – many of our native birds are proving elusive to me at the moment.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Gary.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving my friend. Eat lots of turkey :).

  6. Wow, what an intense red. I’ve never heard of a brush turkey. Each part of the world has its curiosities.

Leave a Reply

