Saturday Sequel: Vecinos Variation

Well, here we are again. My blogging buddy Adrian has twice suggested that I process the image I’ve been working with in my last two posts as a monochrome. I’ve been having fun with that this morning and have tried the conversion first using the original image as it was created in the camera, and then starting with the “tweaked” version that I highlighted in my first post on Tuesday, four days ago. The latter has provided a much more satisfying Near Vecinos 2334-A+sep2result, so here’s the third iteration of this old friend. And it’s not a contest: I’m not asking for votes on which you like best, as I think each should be viewed on its own special merits.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Tweaking Tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturday Sequel: Vecinos Variation

  1. shoreacres says:

    There may be no contest, but I’d say it’s no contest: this is the one I much prefer. I can be fairly idiosyncratic in my responses, but I have to say that this version feels warmer to me than the previous ones. It certainly is inviting. I’d love to go for a walk there.

    • krikitarts says:

      So would I (again), but we would need some at-least-knee-high rubber boots or go barefoot. Since the grass is so tall that we couldn’t see what’s at ground level, I think we would greatly prefer the former. I’m so glad you like this new version. Considering the white-balance issues, I’m rather surprised (and rather chagrined) that I haven’t done this before–and it’s about time!

  2. Vicki says:

    I think it often worthwhile trying B & W conversions – you never know what will be revealed.

    I personally prefer the icy blue of the original, but then I’m a cool tone kinda gal :)

    • krikitarts says:

      You are not alone in your preference. I really like the way the mono- chrome turned out, however, and am growing increasingly fond of it. I’m thinking that I should devote more time and effort to conversions.

  3. Meanderer says:

    I like this mono version, Gary. It works very well!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Interesting that the tweaked version turned out best, and I like the end result very much. If I’ve got an image I think will look good in mono, I sometimes change its colours markedly to achieve a better B&W end result. Adrian

Leave a Reply

