Menagerie Monday (3)

I visited an old friend in Toronto, Ontario (Canada) in May 2005 and he showed me some of his favorite places in the area. One of these was Coronation Park, on western shore of toronto-geeseLake Ontario, from which one has a fine view of the Toronto skyline farther to the north. A couple of dozen magnificent Canada geese had settled down here to raise their goslings.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Menagerie Monday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Menagerie Monday (3)

  1. There is a spot in New York, Jamaica Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, that your shot reminds me of. Big city across the water and a nice spot for birding.

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    I like this a lot, Gary – the geese and pebbles are wonderful, but the diffuse backdrop adds to it considerably. Adrian :)

  3. shoreacres says:

    The geese are nice, the skyline is nice, and the combination is terrific — but those rocks! I love the rocks. I can almost feel how smooth they are. I’d love to have a basketful. Did I mention that I really, really like rocks?

    I really enjoy photos like this, that appeal on so many levels.

    • krikitarts says:

      These beach stones are what I remember most about my visit to this park. I can still feel and hear the uniformly-smooth crunch they made when I walked across them. I wanted to take away at least a pocketful, but it was a park, so I didn’t. I have,however, been known to pick up very small stones (ideally about the size of an antacid tablet) from very special places that I’ve visited and carry them with me for years.

  4. laura lecce says:

    These geese are so gorgeous. I came across a huge group of them a few months back in New Jersey. I tried to sneak up close and get some good photos but was worried they were going to attack me. They were quite vocal about not appreciating my presence, so I let them be.

Leave a Reply

