Abstract: Glenelg Beach

We’ve had a medical emergency this week, which I hope will soon be resolved, but it’s still up in the air at present. As a result, I’ve had practically no time to devote to the bloggers I follow, to like and comment on your recent posts, and—when time allows—I may have to draw a line and start afresh with your new offerings. I’ll join you again when I can. Glenelg Beach 2285In the meantime, here’s an abstract image that I made on Glenelg Beach in Western Australia during the winter of 2012. A recurring favorite subject of mine is the patterns in sand created by wind and waves around various objects left there by the elements.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Abstract and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Abstract: Glenelg Beach

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the health concerns. I hope all’s well soon, and that there aren’t any lingering problems. Sometimes life throws stones onto our beaches — just like your image. Blessed are we if circumstances just flow around it, leaving occasional marks but no damage.

  2. Vicki says:

    Hope the emergency will be resolved quickly and all will be back to normal soon. When life throws ‘spanners in the works’ it’s best to not try and catch up, but start afresh and move on from the day life is back to normal.

    Love the image of the rock and sand patterns. I rather like the rivulets, the receding tide leaves in the sand on some beaches. More and more I’m thinking about more simple subjects in photography and how to capture them. More importantly, I wish the constant rain, wind and storms would stop so I can actually get outdoors for a good length of time (to explore my new location). There are some fascinating new grasses in this area that I would like to photograph and identify.

    But mainly, I just want to get out in nature and feel uplifted. Melbourne may have had the wettest September on record, but October is shaping up to be not much better.

    • krikitarts says:

      You’re right, playing catch-up is not much fun at all, and it gets in the way of the new joys of each new day and what it brings. Sorry to hear about your lousy weather. I know how much you love to be out and about!

  3. cindy knoke says:

    We will be waiting for you. And thinking and praying for you.

  4. Winnie Hurd says:

    Best wishes and my prayers for a full medical recovery in your household. Thanks for your prayers for Toby.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Sorry to hear about the medical emergency, Gary. Hope all is well soon.

    Love this beautiful, serene image. It would lovely framed on the wall.

  6. Finn Holding says:

    Good luck Gary, I hope everything works out for you!

    Great image, reminds me of a satellite picture of a volcanic crater on a distant moon somewhere in the solar system.

  7. I am thinking of you and sending healthy thoughts for you and your family. Take care Gary!!

  8. Adrian Lewis says:

    Yes, very sorry to hear about this, Gary, I do hope things are improving. As to your image, very simple and truly beautiful. All good wishes from me, my friend. Adrian

  9. Best of luck with the dealing and the outcome, Gary. Health is everything and the rest takes a back seat.

  10. We’re glad to hear things are looking much better now, health-wise.

    The stone and its shadow initially appeared concave to me.

    For patterns in sand and stone, the West has a lot to offer, as I can attest from the trip we’re on.

    • krikitarts says:

      I can see the concave aspect, Steve–it’s a sort of negative-space perspective. Perhaps I should try a much-closer crop and render it in monochrome, with some rather dramatic tone-mapping. Ah, endless possibilities!

Leave a Reply

