Green on green (Part 2)

I have revisited the tufts of ornamental grass that grace our garden, this time approaching very slowly and stealthily, and this time, by standing very still and simply looking into their depths, I was able to find no fewer than five katydids. Most of them were down pretty far so that they were unreachable for decent portraits with the camera, on the tripod that Katydid 2425is absolutely essential for this close work, without causing sudden shudders in the grass that would alert them to a stalker (albeit a benevolent one–but they can’t know that). At last one climbed up one of the blades for me and slowly, casually struck a few poses. The sun was very hot on my back, even though I had switched to a plain white T-shirt. Katydid 2362I hope very much that I’ll soon have another chance to study them on a calm, overcast day. By the way, I believe that the plant that they are frequenting is a variety of muhly grass.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Green on green (Part 2)

  1. Mike Powell says:

    I love katydids and am always amazed at the length of their antennae. The orange eyes of the ones you captured seem to have a kind of radioactive glow to them.

  2. krikitarts says:

    It must be the result of their intense concentration wishing me to go away and stop encroaching upon their reassuring view of an uninterrupted sky.

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    No, they can’t know that you are a benevolent presence – there are many times when I wish that I could put such sentiments over to a great range of wild creatures – pipedreams! A

    • krikitarts says:

      Sometimes it seems that they can sense that one isn’t really a threat, but one can never be sure. Body language often seems to help a lot, though. But, as you say, they are, after all, wild creatures!

  4. lauramacky says:

    Wonderful shots! Their eyes aren’t like the usual insects I see with those huge eyes….but then I don’t really see insects that often because I run away. :)

    • krikitarts says:

      No! I find that hard to believe. You even run away from the totally-harmless ones? You’re missing out on a whole alternate world of wonder and fun–but then, I understand very well that it’s not for everyone, and you have your own special worlds and are so comfortable, competent, and productive in them.

      • lauramacky says:

        I have a phobia in person! Especially of snails. Yeah I know they’re slow but still…….

      • krikitarts says:

        The only little ones that really give me the creeps, I think, are the centipedes. They are just about the only things I will squash as soon as I see them (not in the wild, but if I find them in the house), except for ticks, mosquitoes, and chiggers. The world would be a better place without them. If I see spiders in the house, I carefully catch them and relocate them to the outside–but they may have to submit to a photo session upon their release, if they’re patient enough.

      • lauramacky says:

        They are much safer with you around than me. lol

  5. shoreacres says:

    It took me a while to figure out precisely which shade of green these little beauties remind me of, and this morning I finally got it — they’re glowstick green. The fluorescent orange eyes go nicely. I just learned in the last couple of weeks that the long antennae are one mark of the creatures. Are those green, thread-like protrusions at this one’s mouth part of its standard equipment, or has it snagged a buggy snack?

  6. settleandchase says:

    These are amazing! It’s almost hard to believe creatures that look like this are real, and under our noses. They give me an odd mix of nervousness and awe :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, nervousness and awe–one of the best admixtures! No need to be nervous around these guys, though, unless you happen to be the fruiting head of a stalk of Muhly grass.

Leave a Reply

