Pearly pretty

I mentioned the other day that, while I was first following the katydid, a little butterfly flew in and, so to speak, wanted to get in the picture. As the katydid took refuge rather deep in Pearl crescent 2327a tuft of ornamental grass, I was quite happy to oblige. I’ve seen these before up at the cabin fairly frequently and so recognized it, but I did a BugGuide confirmation, and am Pearl crescent 2345able to identify it pretty much for certain as a male Pearl Crescent (Phyciodes tharos). A small piece of one of its wings is missing, but that didn’t seem to slow it down in the least.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pearly pretty

  1. Lovely detail. Terrific shots.

  2. These are pretty little butterflies, aren’t they?

  3. The pearl crescent flies in Texas, too.

  4. I love the composition and color of the first shot.

    • krikitarts says:

      Although I actually prefer it, I almost didn’t include it in the post. It doesn’t have quite the critter detail that the second one does but, for me, it’s more interesting, including a number of other elements that give it more of a sense of the surroundings. I thank you!

  5. lauramacky says:

    Very nice! I’m partial to the second one. :)

  6. These are quite common here and as your image shows, common can still be lovely. It’s amazing how much damage butterflies can suffer and still fly.

    • krikitarts says:

      This was really minimal damage, as you know. I’ve seen far worse–in fact, I remember one butterfly that had lost one complete hindwing and was still able to get around very well, although with a bit of a wobble. Amazing, indeed!

Leave a Reply

