A fondness for fungi: Turkey tail

I was finally able to go for a hike in our woods today, but my old path was so congested with windfall trees in the wake of the big windstorm a little over a month ago that I spent nearly all the time trying to make it reasonably navigable again. I had my little camera with me, but all but forgot to use it–until I had followed it to its end and was returning on a neighbor’s logging road. There on the cut surface of a large tree that had been felled years ago, was this magnificent example of a what I’m quite sure is a turkey-tail mushroom Trametes versicolor 1030259-post(Trametes versicolor), which I simply must share with you. I included another specimen in a post (here) just a little less than a year ago. I have only one more day here, but I’ll be back in a few weeks and will see if I can find others when I have a bit more time.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Fondness for Fungi, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A fondness for fungi: Turkey tail

  1. laura lecce says:

    Fantastic contrast in geometry here with the circular layers in the fungi against the straight cracks in the tree bark. Great photo!

    • krikitarts says:

      Glad you like it, Laura! Those cracks are actually in the cut surface of the wood, rather than in the bark, and they run out radially from the center like spokes as it dries, cutting across the concentric circles of the annual rings. I love the geometric contrast too!

      • laura lecce says:

        Looking back on your photo, I see now that it’s the cut surface with the rings. I think I was fooled by the dark color of the wood, was it burned in some way? (btw would you use burned or burnt?)

      • krikitarts says:

        I’ve been watching that stump for years and I’ve wondered the same thing. I don’t recall any fires in that particular area for as long as I’ve been coming here (something like 47 years (yikes!), so it must be a very old one. And, yes, it does indeed look charred. In these here parts, we’d say “burned,” but our friends in Europe, New Zealand, Australia, (and maybe Canada too, but I’m not sure about that–Cindy, can you help here?) would say “burnt.” Good question, Laura. Language is an endless source of fascination for me.

  2. shoreacres says:

    It does look like a turkey tail, and it’s very attractive. I’ve never paid much attention to fungi, but I’ve never prowled territory where they can be found, either. Generally, I see the standard, pop-up-in-the-lawn sorts. I did see a bracket fungus about a year ago, growing on rotting wood. The variety of everything in the natural world is astonishing — as your turkey tail shows.

    • krikitarts says:

      There are so many fields of nature study–a reasonably-normal person could never successfully endeavor to become anything of an expert in more than one, or maybe a few. But it’s sure fun to dabble! Thanks to the Internet and readily-available field guides, it’s much easier to practice amateur taxonomy than it once was! Actually this one, I believe, is rather old–but so what?! It still has its charm and it’s still growing around the edges, as–so I dearly hope–are we all!

  3. I love these. I came across a similar species,violet-toothed polypore, a few years back which was quite lovely.

  4. So you’ll have turned tail, but not before turning in this picture of turkey tail.

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Striking image, my friend. A

  6. What a wonderful image! I love how the rings on the fungus echo the rings on the stump.

Leave a Reply

