A looper in the fleabane

I’m spending a week at our cabin in northern Minnesota and have been mostly working on cutting up the trees that fell during our big straight-line windstorm a little over a month ago and haven’t had much time at all for any recreational photography. I did, however, find an interesting caterpillar which could possibly be the larva of a cabbage looper Cabbage looper on daisy fleabane 2257(Trichoplusia ni), which is a pretty common geometer moth–at least it looks pretty similar to the illustration in my faithful Golden Guide to Butterflies and Moths from 1977. I’m more confident in putting a name to the plant in which it was perched: It’s Daisy Fleabane (Erigeron philadelphicus). I could identify the plant because there were still some blossoms, which look very much like tiny yellow daisies with many frilly white petals.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A looper in the fleabane

  1. Vicki says:

    An excellent shot and it shows the caterpillar markings very well, so sure to be identifiable.

    I’ve heard about several severe storms from U.S. and U.K. bloggers, so I hope there’s not too much damage at the cabin.

  2. shoreacres says:

    What a beauty. It looks like a strand of Venetian glass trade beads. I’m not sure I’d want to try stringing together a few of these caterpillars, let alone wear them, but I’m more than happy to admire the creature. I like the combination of pink and green, too.

  3. Beautiful composition and caterpillar.

  4. wolke205 says:

    Uiiiiii wie toll :) Eine richtige Schönheit <3

  5. And a farmer in the dell. Catching the cat curled like that really makes the image even more interesting than a similar “normal” image. Lovely color and composition, Gary.

    • krikitarts says:

      Heigh-ho, the derry-o! Given a choice between “normal” and “interesting,” I’ll take the latter almost every time (to the highest rung that I can reach)!

Leave a Reply

