Keys to secret treasures (Part 1)

Yes, I have been inactive on my website for a while. I’m not making any excuses—it’s just that I’ve been that busy. No need to go into details, but I will offer something from a delightful week of snorkeling in the Florida Keys with my son-in-law. I’d like to start with this one, and I’ll bring you several more of my memories from this trip in the near future. Green sea turtle 164It’s a young green sea turtle (Chelonia mydas) and is about half its expected adult size, which can reach four feet (122 cm) in length and weigh up to 350 lbs (159 kg). I was treated to this memorable encounter in the waters of Doughnut Reef, near Key West.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Keys to secret treasures (Part 1)

  1. Missed you but I’m happy you’re making such wonderful memories :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Good to hear from you first, Cindy, and it’s good to be back! I hope all is well with you and yours–haven’t seen anything new from you for quite a while. Did you overdose on chocolate cookies?

      • I’m doing ok my friend, but I’ve had a rough couple of months. We lost my daddy suddenly in April, and we’ve been trying to help my mom as much as possible, but she is almost 5 hours away so it’s tough. Other than that, I have been so addicted to reading lately that I just haven’t felt like blogging. I’m still taking photos though :).

      • krikitarts says:

        I’m sorry for your loss; that is always one of life’s very difficult steps. Glad to hear you’re still shooting though–when you get one you love, please share it with us!

  2. Fantastic image – worth the wait

  3. shoreacres says:

    Good to see you, and what a great photo you’ve brought us. The Keys are magical, for sure. I did my first snorkeling out of Marathon, and it was quite something — although I didn’t see anything as majestic as this.

    • krikitarts says:

      We spent 3 nights on Big Pine and another 3 on Islamorada and snorkeled from there, too. This was the most snorkeling I’ve ever done, and it’s addictive. The best was one short one in the Poor Knights Islands in New Zealand, and I can’t wait to do that again!

  4. Vicki says:

    I’ve missed your posts too, but what a great shot. Sounds like snorkeling is great fun (and there’s nothing wrong with being busy).

    • krikitarts says:

      Great fun to be sure, provided the waves are gentle and the current slow. Which they were! More busy stuff on the horizon, but I’ll try to devote more time to sharing.

  5. But the turtles don’t eat the doughnuts, right?

  6. Nice turtle shot, Gary. I’ve never snorkeled…don’t care for swimming much which I believe would be required…but am impressed with underwater photography and this is a treat to see.
    Glad you are and will be posting some more.

    • krikitarts says:

      This was by far the most I’ve ever done in a short period of time, and I’m sure looking forward to more in the not-too-distant future. It’s really another world down there!

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Very good to see you back, my friend – and what a stunning photo! Adrian :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Nice to be back in the saddle! I don’t know where the time has gone, but a lot has slipped by. I sure can’t promise anything like a post a day, but I’ll try to be less sporadic!

Leave a Reply

