A liking for lichens: Craters of the Moon

Most of you have not seen anything new on my site or otherwise heard from me in some 2½ weeks. This is not due to any illness or injury per se, but rather to an inability to sit comfortably for any reasonable period of time. Following knee-replacement surgery on the 14th, I’ve been healing well and getting stronger by the day, but my ankle has chosen to hinder the speed of my full recovery. I’ll be able to pay more attention to your posts (and to my own) in the near future, but in the meantime, I’ll try to get a word out at least once in a while. Uh-oh, time to go ice my knee and elevate my foot again…Craters of Moon 09-05-04

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Liking for Lichens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A liking for lichens: Craters of the Moon

  1. laura lecce says:

    Wish you all the best for a speedy recovery!

  2. Vicki says:

    Lots of Arnica cream (or ointment) and gentle massage (always towards the heart, i.e. light towards the extremities and firmer with the upward stroke towards your heart) might help your ankle. Perhaps CD can help with the massage (of both feet) to help keep the lymph system moving.

    Many people don’t realise how relaxing foot massage is, especially working on the reflexology point connected to your knee (in your case, Gary). I had a Thai girl come around the wards offering (free) foot massages when I was in hospital for 5 days back in 2014. I was both surprised and delighted that my local public hospital had brought in some alternative therapies to augment their orthodox western treatment/surgery. To this day, (after qualifying in Aromatherapy and Soft Tissue Massage in 1992), I give my feet a massage when feeling a little unwell or congested in the liver (from too much rich food at Christmas).

    Hoping you don’t get too frustrated with inactivity.

    Interesting photo composition. Reminds me of two ducks covered in lichen.

    • krikitarts says:

      The massage suggestion is a very good one, and I’ve been doing some–it really does seem to help. Yes, the old stump that looks like a duck was what caught my eye, and the second appeared when I started working with the image. Not really a bonus bug, but sort of a bonus bill!

  3. shoreacres says:

    I guess the old song’s right — the knee bone really is connected to the ankle bone!

    It’s good to see your post, and to know that recovery’s in process. Slow and steady’s the thing. It can be frustrating, but it’s the best way. And like Vicki, I saw a pair of ducks, too. I suppose it’s the suggestion of the red bills.

    • krikitarts says:

      Actually, the knee bone’s connected to the leg bone, and the leg bone’s connected to the ankle bone, but the main thing is that they’re all connected, and if one doesn’t work right, they all don’t work right together. As for the licheny ducks, there are probably at least a half-dozen varieties of lichen that have colonized this little ecosystem , and probably many more. It was in a very delicate, protected area and some distance from the boardwalk, so I couldn’t get a closer look.

  4. Oh, best wishes to you, Gary, for a full recovery! Such an interesting image here.

  5. Best of luck, Gary, for a complete recovery and full use of the various parts from the hip all the way to the tarsal but especially the knee..

    • krikitarts says:

      I can’t wait! My out-patient physical therapy starts the day after tomorrow, and that’s bound to help to speed things up. Thanks so much for your kind wishes!

  6. seekraz says:

    Fascinating image, Gary…nicely done. :)

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Gary, speedy recovery, my friend! I wish you well. Adrian :)

  8. It’s good to hear things are coming along generally well for you. I can’t help interpreting the suggestion about massage: you got re-kneed so you need to knead.

Leave a Reply

