Frosty first foray

As promised, we drove north two days ago to check on things at the cabin, and everything was ship-shape, with one exception, on which I will elaborate in the near future.  We were only up there for one full day, and it snowed during the night of our arrival, so that we awoke to a wonderful, frosted landscape.  On the return trip, we were very fortunate to have glimpses of several sandhill cranes.  One of them was apparently eager to stand for a      Sandhill crane 1020847couple of portraits while I carefully pulled off the road and eased back to rest my camera on the back of our rental van.  I wished that I had brought my big camera, but I only had my little backup one.  Still, I was grateful for the wonderful opportunity.  More soon!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Fleeting Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Frosty first foray

  1. shoreacres says:

    The sandhills I used to see on a particular Texas road have moved location, and I missed them this past winter. I’m sure you must have been to see them on the Platte River — a blogging friend made the trek this year, and her photos were splendid.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, I went along on an overnight stay/dawn watch with Batty’s high school science class back in 1998. Unforgettable–I still get the shivers at the wonder of the experience!

  2. kerryl29 says:

    Each November there are thousands (usually tens of thousands) of sandhill cranes that make a migratory stop at the Jasper-Pulaski Fish and Wildlife Area in northwest Indiana. Your post reminds me that, one of these years, I really need to make the drive and see the show.

    • krikitarts says:

      Anyone who can should make it a priority. The experience is one that I will treasure always. The symphony of close to half a million voices that haven’t effectively changed since prehistoric times is unforgettable.

  3. Finn Holding says:

    I saw my first cranes here in the UK just a few months ago, they’re magnificent birds.

    I’m looking forward to the following instalments from the cabin

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve loved the chances I’ve had to see cranes (and storks) in Europe, too. Yours are a different variety, though I’m pretty sure. Circumstances will continue to prevent our going back up again for probably at least a good month, but there will definitely be news!

  4. bluebrightly says:

    I’m another sandhill crane lover, but I had no idea they were in – New Zealand too? On a trip to Florida once I happened to see a pair in a yard while driving back roads – that was so exciting – only time for a quick shot, like what happened here. Then on a trip to Arizona I got to see masses of them coming in to an area where they spend the evening – oh, the sounds!

  5. krikitarts says:

    Sorry to have created the wrong impression–this was in northern Minnesota. We don’t have a cabin in New Zealand–yet! I returned from NZ on April 4. Having heard their distinctive calls in both large and small groups, I think I will be able to identify them for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

