More mantis memories

Here is another favorite shot of the female mantis that I found near Batty’s deck a couple of weeks ago.  I’m not going to worry, for a while, about whether the images I may post are clickable for enlargement.  I’ve had several suggestions that I’ll be trying out.  Mantis 1286We’re going to be making our first run up to the cabin tomorrow to see how it fared through the winter, and plan to spend all day Monday there.  Of course, it’s supposed to be very cold, with a predicted high of 31°F and a low of 17, so we’ll be trying to keep very busy so we can stay warm.  I don’t know if there’s still ice on the lake, but I’ll find out soon!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More mantis memories

  1. shoreacres says:

    That’s one fine mantis. I’m accustomed to an all-green color scheme. This is a pretty fancy version. And I see you’ve worked out the enlargement issue — fun to see this one in full size.

  2. Jane says:

    You have good eyes to spot it on that background! Well done. I find them fascinating creatures to watch. :)

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Great close up – I love these guys.

  4. laura lecce says:

    A wonderfully fascinating insect, one of my favorites too. Fantastic photo!

Leave a Reply

