Curious problem, partial solution

Recently followers of mine have reported that they have been unable to view larger versions of the photos I’ve posted by simply clicking on them.  I’ve researched my archives and have discovered that this feature stopped functioning in early November 2015.  I’ve sent a query to the WordPress forums and am waiting for an answer, but meantime I have discovered a workaround solution.

For those of you who use a PC:  If you right-click on a photo, then left-click on “View Image,” it should appear in a new window, enlarged.  Then you can enlarge if further each time you hold down the Control button and click the  + button (which also contains the = sign), without also hitting the Shift key.  When you close the new window, everything else should remain normal size.

If you use a Mac, with the cursor on a photo, first hold the Control button down and click once, then click on “Open photo in new window.”  When it appears, you can further enlarge it by holding down the Command button and hitting the + key (which also contains the = sign), without also hitting the Shift key.  If, when you’re through looking at the photo, your other screens remain enlarged, you can shrink them again by holding down the Command key and pushing the – key.

OK, so here’s the first test.  While I was still in New Zealand, I found this mantis on Batty’s deck.  She was patient with me as I stayed with her for a good half-hour with my camera   Mantis 1302(I know she was a female because she has wings).  Please try enlarging it and let me know if these procedures allow you to have a better look at the image and the details.  Thanks!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Curious problem, partial solution

  1. I can “Open image in new tab” but not enlarge it. “View image” is not one of the right click options for me.

  2. shoreacres says:

    It didn’t enlarge when I right-clicked and then clicked “view image,” but I could get it to enlarge with the ctrl+ command.

  3. shoreacres says:

    It took me a while to remember who was having the problem. It was Lynda, over at the Farmlet. Here’s the post from November, when she started having the problem. There was quite a discussion in the comments. Her photos are enlarging now, so you could look at the post comments, or even drop her a line and ask how she did it. She’d be happy to help out.

    • krikitarts says:

      It will be a while until I can follow up on this–I’m going into the hospital for a couple of days. But thanks for the tip–I’m eager to see what everyone said and what she did.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’m sure you’ve figured it out by now, but if not, Lynda walked me through the process, and I got it to work.

Leave a Reply

