Monday’s micro-monster

Circumstances prevented our planned outing into the New Zealand bush the other day, so I’ve been compensating with little excursions to the edge of Batty’s rather wild growth that flanks the property, and the day before yesterday my search led me to an encounter with a Mantis 1207young mantis.  I believe it’s a male because no wings have developed  and Batty tells me that it’s not a native because it doesn’t have blue elbows.  Nevertheless, he was impressive Mantis 1226and fascinating.  I hope to find out some day what trick of reflected and/or refracted light from/in their eyes makes it appear that there’s a tiny black pupil near the center of each Mantis 1211compound eye so that one has the impression that they’re looking directly at you even when their face is turned away.  It certainly helps to give them that uncanny, spooky look.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday’s micro-monster

  1. Such a fascinating little creature!

  2. shoreacres says:

    Whenever I see one of these, I can’t help wondering if they were made-by-committee. It seems like it would be flat awkward to lug all those body parts around, but they seem to do all right.

  3. Handsome creature……no stranger than the Dinosaurs :-)

  4. Jane says:

    Excellent close-up shots. They do look a little spooky sometimes don’t they? They are amazing predators.

  5. Amazingly, I have never found one of these, and there are several species, in my crawlings around the fields and meadow. They do sort of remind me of the Meher Baba posters people had where they remarked how his eyes were always looking at you no matter where you were in a room.

  6. David says:

    great photos of an extraordinary creature!

Leave a Reply

