Webnesday (36)

We’re about halfway in our time in New Zealand and I plan to hold the news about which I hinted in my last post for another day or two, as I have another Webnesday subject to report.  We’ve moved from Squiddy’s place to Batty’s place a couple of days ago and I White salticid 1020778discovered this little white jumping spider yesterday in the foliage that flanks her long driveway.  It’s Webnesday here, though it’s a day earlier back in the US, so I feel quiteWhite salticid 1020774justified in posting it now.  I have been unable to find her in Squiddy’s wonderful book of New Zealand spiders, but I’ll keep trying to identify her and will post an update when I am White salticid 1020769able to.   She was about half an inch in length and very alert, following my cautious attempts to get close enough for some good portrait shots with considerable attention.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Webnesday (36)

  1. Mike Powell says:

    What a cool-looking spider, Gary, and your shots of it are wonderful. I never get tired of seeing shots of jumping spiders.

    • krikitarts says:

      I find them endlessly fascinating. Only a relatively few of the ones to be found here have been identified, and there are many more. Maybe I’ll be able to help in my own small way…

  2. Jane says:

    Super shots! I love jumping spiders. :)

  3. Vicki says:

    Wonderful close-up, Gary.
    I never tire of seeing your great shots of insects.

  4. Wonderful shots. I love how the “furry” stem and leaves echo the “fur” on the spider. :-) Somehow, it looks all cozy. Haha! I doubt too many people would think that about a spider! :-D

    • krikitarts says:

      Some salticids definitely look “cozier” than others, and this is certainly one of them. The furry peidpalps help a lot with that impression, as they provide “cute” camouflage for the pointy business apparatus behind them. Thanks, Melanie!

  5. Shots from the future – lovely. I don’t know the name of it either

  6. shoreacres says:

    She does look bright and alert. Cute, even. Not only that, the design on her abdomen resembles a fancy swirl atop a cappuccino, done by a barrista with a steady hand.

    • krikitarts says:

      Some are most definitely cuter than others. Some are absolutely elegant, while others can look like miniature monsters. I find them all worthy of as much study as they will tolerate. Love your cappuccino thought!

Leave a Reply

