Big, bold bird

We’ve seen nothing of the local flock of turkeys that inhabit our part of Omaha for many months, until the past few days.  Two toms have recently appeared, and they were strolling Wild turkey 861

Wild turkey 855outside our front windows early this afternoon.  I was able to ease out the front door and make a few shots of one of them before they ambled away, alertly aware of my presence.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Portraits, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Big, bold bird

  1. cindy knoke says:

    beautful, big, bold, bird! great clicks!

    • krikitarts says:

      He really was magnificent–as was your roadrunner! Something strange–I signed up to follow your site some time ago, but I get no email alerts when you put up a new post. ls anyone else having this problem?

  2. Vicki says:

    What a beautiful bird – such gorgeous colours.

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, their feathers are incredible, and the colors they present change drastically according to the angle of the light that falls on them. I’d love to have a couple of hours to study one up close!

  3. I’ve seen plenty in Quabbin this year. Must have been a good mast season last year. One year our feeders were visited by a flock of about fifty for a few days, then never again. They don’t like to overstay their welcome- really it’s just better to avoid predators by varying the feeding locales.

    • krikitarts says:

      A flock of 50 would truly be a memorable occasion. I’ve seen up to 23 at a time here, but usually not so many, and then over the course of the past couple of years, smaller groups. So far, this winter, we’ve seen only the two toms. I hope that changes as the spring arrives. We shall see…

  4. shoreacres says:

    I was trying to decide whether you’d posted two views of one bird, or one view of two birds, and decided: one bird. The sticky-out feathers in front were the clue.

    I see turkeys now and then. The last group I saw was in ranch country — maybe a dozen, crossing a road. And one of my cherished posessions is a turkey feather from Konza Prairie, in Kansas. I was lucky enough to have a guided tour of the parts off-limits to folks Three turkeys ran out of the grass, took one look, wheeled, and were gone. Poof. I swear those things levitate.

    Anyhow, I see you like music as well as photography. That makes me think you’ll like this, done by some friends who call themselves the E-flat Porch Band. It’s all about a turkey, too. You may know it — Long Gone.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks so much for that–no, I didn’t know it. I see that I must put some of my own music up on this blog. That is another of my major passions in life. As for the photos, you’re quite right: They are of the same bird.

    • krikitarts says:

      I agree–I’m really fortunate that these guys are enough at ease around some folks that they allow me to get close enough for some good shots without spooking them. You may remember one post I did (here) about three years ago as a result of my seeing a flock of them prowling around and having a seat on the ground in what I thought was their intended path–and I was right.

Leave a Reply

