For the birds (Part 1)

Much has been happening here that has continued to draw my immediate attention away from keeping up with website communications. But I will keep chiming in, as time–and issues on more-front burners–allow. Please bear with me.

Since I last posted, we had a second wonderful snowfall, during which we decided to increase our offerings to the local birds by adding a block of suet to the trove of sunflower seeds, and I decided to use the opportunity to challenge myself with photographing some of the birds that have taken advantage of the enhanced palette of possibilities.

I plan to do this in two parts.  Today’s edition contains two images that I made  of a pair of cardinals during our second serious snowfall of the season, just a few days ago.  They are, of course, naturally magnificent, but the expressions that they adopt during inclement weather seem quite tempting to anthropomorphize into reflections of dismay, resigned acceptance, or myriad other whimsical moods more or less appropriate to the circumstances.  I encourage you to read your own interpretations into their postures.

Female cardinal 0561Cardinal 1020658CR-post

Watch for the second edition tomorrow.  Meanwhile, fluff up and stay warm!

 

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Silly Saturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to For the birds (Part 1)

  1. Wowee Gary, those are amazing shots!! I shall anxiously await the second edition :).

    • krikitarts says:

      I don’t like shooting through a window, but I’m pretty happy with the results too. It would have been practically impossible to get this close to them outside.

  2. Vicki says:

    Great shots, Gary.

    Excuse my ignorance of the geography of the States, but are you in the middle of that horrific snowstorm that I heard about on the TV News tonight. Some 95 million being affected and told to stay indoors?

    I’m so glad one of my o/s friends is no longer living in a tent in East Washington. She used to say that she and her partner took it in turns to stay awake during the winter nights to stop the snow building up on top of their (tent) roof some years ago.

    • krikitarts says:

      That’s OK, Vicki–no, that was along the east coast. Nebraska is pretty much in the middle of the country. It sounds like your friend was in east Washington state rather than DC, as real snowfall is quite rare there. I experienced one, however, in February 2010, which I see I never posted about, and that I really should revisit in light of the current conditions. Thanks for the reminder!

      • Vicki says:

        I keep thinking I must get a large atlas (like my large Steve McCurry’s Iconic Photograph book on my coffee table) and read a page each night thoroughly to learn some Geography. I know the UK intimately having lived and driven around it from north to south and east to west. I also know a bit about central Europe and Alaska, but that’s about all.

  3. seekraz says:

    Beautiful birds…nicely captured, Gary.

  4. Great shots – even the fauna feel the weather too

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Love these portraits! A

Leave a Reply

