Serendipitous snowfall

In spite of my rather pessimistic feeling during the week leading up to the holidays, conditions conspired to bring us not only the first real snowfall of the winter, but also the first real white Christmas we’ve had in many years. December 23 was gray and dismal, Snowfall 448but I awoke on Christmas Eve morning to see some seven inches of fresh snow, and more continued to fall well into the afternoon, for a total lovely accumulation of nearly a foot. Miscanthus 430I wandered around outside, admiring the delicate artistry the snowfall had created in the foliage. I spent a delightful hour of quiet meditation, the fresh blanket muffling all Black Oak 481 sound around me.  One of my favorite sounds did float down to me though, nearly subliminal at first, but growing gradually more noticeable, so that I was ready to raise     Canada Geese 456my camera when a chevron of migrating Canada geese passed by overhead, nearly invisible among the enormous snowflakes.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Fleeting Beauty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Serendipitous snowfall

  1. Merry Christmas my friend :). Believe it or not, we had a green Christmas, and we broke records for warm temperatures. I didn’t have to worry about people driving to our house in bad conditions. It was awesome!!

    • krikitarts says:

      And why would I not believe that, Cindy? It’s been unnaturally warm here, too. And the new snow is fast dwindling. it has now collapsed to only a couple of inches and it’s supposed to rain today, which will hasten its disappearance. It’s good to hear that your visitors had safe travel; I remember past posts of yours with different news!

      • Well, we had freezing rain last night and a little snow this morning, and they’re calling for snow on Tuesday, so hopefully my parents will have a safe drive home tomorrow. Fingers crossed!! Then maybe I can finally relax LOL :).

  2. How beautiful to have a white Christmas. The first snow is always special. Here in New Zealand we had a pleasant warm day. All the best to you and your family over the holiday period.

  3. A few days ago it hit 80° here in Austin, and it’s 76° here now. I’m wondering if I’ll get to see frostweed do its ice trick this winter. At least you had some snow, even if it is quickly melting.

    • krikitarts says:

      It was sure a treat to see, and some of it is still hanging on. BTW, we were wondering if our ID of the grass in the second photo is indeed Miscanthus, and were hoping that you’d let us know if it’s not. Since you didn’t include a correction, may we presume that you concur?

      • I’m afraid you give me too much credit, Gary. I first heard of Miscanthus only recently, and I found that it’s not native to North America, so I know essentially nothing about it. Sorry.

  4. Mike Powell says:

    I dreamed of a white Christmas and you got it. Like so many others on the East Coast, I’ve endured the record-breaking heat–the weather has been almost tropical and some of my friends actually turned on their air conditioning. I grew up in New England, and I figure it should at least be cold, even if we don’t have snow.

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Lovely pictures, Gary – I especially like the geese – and very glad you got your white Christmas wish. We had no snow here – and, in any case, the good old UK can never deal with it when we do – and if we’d had nearly a foot, there would have probably been a national emergency! As it is, areas quite far north of here are hit by serious flooding and the army has been sent in to help. And thank you for your mention (on my blog) of my pictures cheering you up – that’s very good to hear. Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      We’ve had very serious flooding here too, but not in my part of the country. I’m sorry to hear that your part of the world has had so much as well. I’m so afraid that we have messed around with the delicate natural balance of things that they are getting severely out of hand. May this change for the better in the new year!

  6. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful, Gary. How lovely to have snow at this time of year. As Adrian has said, no snow here – nor even a smidge of frost recently.

  7. seekraz says:

    How very nice for you, Gary…I’ve had very few white Christmases to cherish…. Beautiful images…..

Leave a Reply

