Ave, autumn!

It’s finally here. No more need to hang onto summer with fingernails. Time to welcome autumn with open arms. She arrived at 4:21 this morning. I’ve been looking forward to her very much, and am delighted to open my heart to her. In anticipation of this event,  I prepared this post yesterday, revisiting an image that I made exactly 5 years ago and re-working it from the original for this occasion. It’s another from the Paul Bunyan State Forest, but a very special one, as this unusual cloud formation lasted only a very few minutes, and I had to engage my athletic overdrive to catch it before it faded. PBSF Cloud 09-22-10 9561The wave formations in the clouds were even more pronounced shortly before I made the photo, but I chose to wait until I could scramble up a steep, overgrown hillside to reach a vantage point that would provide a suitable foreground:  I traded the peak drama of the sky for the more balanced overall image. I’m glad that I did.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Fleeting Beauty, Nebulous Notables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Ave, autumn!

  1. nowatamuseum says:

    Carpe diem!
    Great photo.

  2. seekraz says:

    It’s a beautiful image, Gary…the colors are nearly stunning….and nice capture of those clouds, too. I appreciate the results that your athletic overdrive enabled. :)

  3. Nope – I’ve still got my heels dug in. I’m not ready for Summer to leave yet :(.

    • krikitarts says:

      I do understand your stubborn resistance, Cindy. Apparently it hasn’t been as hot a summer up there as we had in Minnesota. Perhaps it will still try to seem like summer for a bit longer for you, eh? I hope so!

      • We did have a few really hot spells and I thoroughly enjoyed the summer, and so far fall is starting off nicely. The mornings are cold, but it has still been in the 70’s and sunny later in the day, so I can’t complain :). Let’s face it, I will never be ready for winter LOL.

  4. thefallghost says:

    What a beautiful picture! The clouds look just like a grey desert. I love fall, and its colours. Isn’t it the most beautiful time of the year?

  5. Definitely Autumn here. Nights in the 40s and days in the 70s. Nice shot.

    • krikitarts says:

      I feel very fortunate to have been able to make that shot. I was with three friends and we came upon this clearing suddenly, giving us our first relatively-clear view of the sky for the past half-hour, and it was nearly too late. One of the others got a better shot of the clouds, but I’m happy that I was able to get what I did. Yes, the cool nights make for better sleep. Aaaah!

  6. Vicki says:

    What beautiful tree colour. Amazing.

    And the clouds are rather interesting also. It’s only since I’ve had a lounge room with a 180 degree view from left to right and an unobstructed view across the rooftops that I’ve truly got fascinated with clouds. Now, I never tire of watching them move and change shape.

  7. Adrian Lewis says:

    Beautiful stuff, my friend! A

  8. The Great Plains has Weather with a capital W. Central Texas normally has something more subdued. That could be said for fall foliage as well, so the closest I ever came to what you’ve shown in your dramatic photograph is this:

    https://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/flameleaf-sumac-and-sinuous-clouds/

    • krikitarts says:

      The similarity is striking, Steve, and thanks for the flashback. A lot of our sumac goes really crazy at this time of year, and I hope to be able to bring you some of it next week.

  9. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful, Gary. Those colours are amazing :-)

  10. settleandchase says:

    Gorgeous. I love autumn, it’s supposed to be a closing down period but I always feel much more alive somehow!

  11. Truels says:

    Well, I’m happy you managed to capture this brilliant photo. The sky is almost surreal and beautiful – contrasting perfect the fantastic colors of the vegetation in the foreground.

Leave a Reply

