Melancholy Monday: Summer’s swan song

There’s something in the air again as summer prepares to take its leave to make way for this year’s autumn.  The equinox that heralds the official seasonal transition here in the northern hemisphere will occur the day after tomorrow at 4:21 a.m.  Several of my blogging friends have been posting photos made in years past after the arrival of autumn, in anticipation of the changes to come, but I’d like to offer four that I made PBSF 9177on this date five years ago.  I do this in anticipation also, for we will be traveling back up to northern Minnesota at the end of this week, and when we were there a couple of PBSF 9216weeks ago, I heard on one of the local radio stations that the conditions are currently reported to be perfect for the fall colors to be at their absolute best, with a full 10 (on a PBSF 9184scale of 10) predicted by the experts.  I will try to revisit at least some of the same places in (and I’m not making this up!) the Paul Bunyan State Forest where I made these PBSF 9258images.  It has been a very pleasant summer and I’m sorry to see it go, but I am fully ready to embrace the autumn once again.  [Please click on an individual image to see it in a separate window, in a larger size, and with greater detail.]

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Summer’s swan song

  1. Winnie Hurd says:

    I feel fortunate to live in an area that embraces all four seasons of the year. Each one (even Winter) has its charm. Enjoy the 2015 transition to Fall!

    • krikitarts says:

      I couldn’t agree more, Winnie. I know I could never be happy in a place that’s mostly cold and has only a tiny bit of warm weather, but I would really miss winter in a place where it’s only a concept that’s seen in pictures of other places. Yes, I promise to enjoy it!

  2. I assume the melancholy is more a daily title that a reflection of the subject. I love autumn…the crisp air, the vibrant colors, the hints of the coming cold season. As I age, I find summer to not be my favorite any longer…the heat is getting more difficult with each passing year ( not that winter’s sub-freezing temperatures are too much fun either). Bring on fall with its joyous colors and refreshing comfortable temperatures.

    • krikitarts says:

      I am so in tune with your thinking. You’re right about the melancholy connection–it’s a tag that’s useful for categorizing a thought that’s been bubbling toward the surface for a while. Summer used to be my hands-down favorite season, but its heat can be so oppressive, especially for sleeping, that the thought of an extra blanket at night and a sweater–or at least a favorite flannel shirt–in the morning is so welcoming. Bring it on!

  3. If those luscious panoramas are a prognostication, I’ll say woo hoo, lucky you, to be able to see a real northern changing of the leaves.

    Down here in Austin, which is far south of that massive fall foliage belt, yesterday I saw my first goldenrod of the season just beginning to flower.

    • krikitarts says:

      Thanks very much for the “luscious panoramas” compliment, Steve. I do indeed consider myself lucky, and I’m so looking forward to the possibility of a prime-condition color year. The best in recent years was 2012, and the peak was on September 30. Here’s hoping!

  4. Hello Gary, beautiful images and I hope you get to enjoy your autumn :)

  5. Vicki says:

    Wonderful colour and how lucky to be able to see your Fall colour in such a rustic area.
    Beats city living any day.

    • krikitarts says:

      There really is something magic about being able to get away from the usual urban/suburban demands and let it all go for a while with a walk in the woods, opening the senses to the enticing whispers of the nearly-subliminal other part of our beautiful world.

  6. Mike Powell says:

    Growing up in New England, I remember autumn being my favorite season–it still is. I won’t miss the oppressive heat of the summers of Northern Virginia, though we don’t get the kind of spectacular fall foliage that you highlight in your wonderful images.

    • krikitarts says:

      This kind of spectacular color doesn’t happen every year–more like one in eight or ten, in my experience. I can’t wait to get up there in a few days and see if it lives up to the predictions! As for the east coast summer heat, I couldn’t agree with you more, and I readily admit that I was so (SO!) happy to see DC in my rear-view mirror in 2010.

Leave a Reply

