A Fondness for Fungi: Northern Minnesota, early September

One of the changes that I look forward to each year in late summer is the appearance of many varieties of fungi in the north woods. I was not disappointed when we were there last week, and I always keep a watch for them as I explore around the cabin. Basidiomycete 20142The first image is of a club fungus, a basidiomycete of the family Clavariaceae, one of several dozen emerging from a bed of pine needles. Two fungi 20161The two fungi in the second were on the side of a fallen jack pine and sports two varieties: turkey tail (Trametes versicolor) and a jelly mushroom (possibly Dacrymyces palmatus). Polypore 09-09-15The third is another polypore, possibly Trametes conchifer. BTW, I’d be delighted to have confirmation or correction for any of my tentative identifications (at any time)!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Fondness for Fungi and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Fondness for Fungi: Northern Minnesota, early September

  1. Vicki says:

    What an interesting one is that club fungus. The turkey tail looks similar to one I see here on the Melaleuca trees.

  2. I’m no expert, but your IDs all look good to me. I sometimes get confused between orange jelly and witches’ butter, but I think you are correct.

  3. Pingback: A fondness for fungi: Turkey tail | krikitarts

Leave a Reply

