Webnesday (33)

My PhotoAngel Frances was with me again this morning.  When I went out on our back deck to see if the grass was dry enough to mow (it was), a small movement above my head caught my attention.  A lovely spotted orbweaver (Neoscona crucifera) had built a new Spotted orbweaver 9597web overnight.  I’d been keeping an eye on one a few yards away for a few days, but it was quite close to a swing, and I suspect that she had now relocated to try to find a few less pendulous anchor points for her moorings.  By stretching my tripod to its absolute height limit and using my remote release, I was able to catch her in a momentary lull in the nearly-constant breeze.  A far better way to spend a few minutes than mowing the grass!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Webnesday (33)

  1. Almost anything is better than mowing the grass and spider watching is up there near the top of the list.

    • krikitarts says:

      Too right. As it turned out, some of the lawn wasn’t as dry as I’d thought and I had to clear the exit opening on the mower (we have a mulcher) several times, so I wisely decided to put off finishing the job until (much) later. And yes, spider watching is right up there among the favorite activities at the top of my list, too.

  2. Mike Powell says:

    Wonderful detail on this beautiful spider, Gary, and that background is spectacular (and a bit unexpected in terms of color).

  3. Great capture! She’s lovely.

    • krikitarts says:

      She sure is. She seems to have moved again, and I’m hoping to find her, but it will have to be tomorrow, as we’re going back into the woods for a few days on Saturday. Mayhap I’ll find her again upon our return. If I do, I’ll try to bring her to you again!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Absolutely wonderful shot – and I’m with Mike Powell entirely re the background – it adds to the shot hugely. A

Leave a Reply

