Serenity Sunday: Golden slumbers

Busy, busy, busy…it’s been hard to find the time to make another post. I won’t bore you with all the other matters that have been demanding most of my attention, but foremost among them are YardWork and setting up a new computer. It runs Windows 10, so I can’t clone a full image of my old one with Windows 7 and transfer all my programs along with my files, but have to reinstall everything. But it’s going really pretty well and this is my inaugural post with my new, smaller, lighter, faster, and more capacious companion. I’ll bring you a photo that I made shortly before we left the cabin last week. As I was patrolling the shore without either of my main cameras, I came across a small group of goldenrod (Solidago serotina) and spied a bald-faced hornet (Vespula consobrina) on one, seemingly Bald-faced hornet on goldenrod 08-21-15motionless, and I thought it had been caught by a crab spider, but it was apparently only resting. So when it began to move, I discarded my plan to fetch the tripod and set up for a really detailed shot and pulled out my phone instead. I made a half-dozen or so shots and like this one the best. (Please click on the photo for a higher-resolution image in a new window.)

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Serenity Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Serenity Sunday: Golden slumbers

  1. Vicki says:

    Great shot – that hornet looks like he could be mean and nasty though.

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    I’m on Windows 7 too, my friend – and the thought of getting over to W 10 is gut-renching! Good luck! A :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Don’t worry, Adrian, it’s not all that bad. And you don’t need to upgrade to a touch screen–you can still do everything with your mouse. By far, the worst part of the transition was the 23 hours it took to download over our pitifully-far-less-than broadband.

  3. Did you know that Latin cōnsōbrīnus meant the same as, and evolved through French to, our borrowed word cousin?

    As for golden slumbers, last week we visited the Beatles exhibition at the LBJ Library here in Austin:

    http://www.lbjlibrary.org/exhibit/beatles/index.html

    • krikitarts says:

      Nope, I didn’t know that, even though I had a couple of years of Latin. Never studied any French, though, though I’ve picked up a tiny bit from a dozen or so visits through the years. I’d love to visit that exhibit some time–thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

