Melancholy Monday: Pets past and present

There are two parts to this post.  The first (and melancholy) part is here because we are fondly remembering our Fern, who left us five years ago last week, and we’re missing her. Fern 495 05-22-07The second (and happy) part is here because we still have one four-footed family member and because I have a new phone.  It is my custom that, when I have a new camera, the first photo that I make is of a pet.  My new Samsung Galaxy S6 has a 16-MP camera, and Leo the Magnificent offered to pose for me yesterday on his favorite perch on the back of one Leo 08-15-15of our sofas where he can look out and watch the birds at the feeder.  The light was pretty dim and I had to shoot hand-held and standing, so it isn’t quite as sharp as I might have liked, but hey, we do what we can with the conditions that are available to us, don’t we?

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday, Portraits, Portraits of Pets Past and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Pets past and present

  1. Fern looks so happy in that picture. And Leo the Magnificent is looks like a real character. :-) Have fun with your Galaxy S6!

    • krikitarts says:

      Fern absolutely loved romping in that field of clover and other wildflowers. She was the personification of unfettered joy. And yup, Leo is indeed the character. Apart from watching the birds, his favorite activity is to be right next to (and rubbing against) someone playing an acoustic guitar.

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Beautiful portraits, Gary – and good to have cause for happiness along with the sadness. And a Galaxy S6 eh? Well, no idea what that is, but it certainly takes nice pictures – and its got more pixels than my D700! A :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, you’re right, and there are far more happy memories than sad where pets past are concerned, and Fern was definitely one of the best. And yes again, I’m delighted with the quality of the photos I’m getting with the new phone–I only wish it could shoot in RAW!

  3. Lovely photos. Loved the photo from your new galaxy – not bad for the poor light

    • krikitarts says:

      There are times when I’m tempted to get a tripod adapter, but then the beauty of it is that it’s so portable that it’s always with me without having to think about carrying anything extra. Also, it adds to the challenge!

Leave a Reply

