Webnesday (32)

It’s that time once again, and it’s about time, I’d say, as it’s been more than a month since my last Webnesday post.  Amply aware of this apparent absence of arachnid activity, I went hunting in the garden yesterday.  After a few minutes of careful looking, I spotted a very delicate web with its fine strands reflected in a ray of slanting sunlight and, looking more closely, found this wolf spider (family Lycosidae) and was able to get a few shots with Wolf spider with ant 9450an unfortunate ant that happened to be in the wrong place at just the wrong time.  The spider was somewhat shy as I carefully moved in with my tripod but, as it turned out, it was more interested in its next meal than it was in my cautious intrusion.  (If you’d like to see more detail, just click on the photo and it will open for you in a larger window.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Webnesday (32)

  1. Great capture: both of you! :-)

  2. Mike Powell says:

    I didn’t realized how small that spider was until I saw the ant. Wow! Great shot, Gary, with amazing detail. I have this sudden desire to go out and look for some spiders.

    • krikitarts says:

      I have to admit that the spider wasn’t as small as you may have thought, Mike, as that was a pretty big ant, but thanks a lot for all of the compliments! By all means, go look for more spiders too!

Leave a Reply

