Webnesday (30)

Life is getting in the way, and my posts (and comments and even likes) will probably be rather sporadic over the course of the next month, so please bear with me.  In the meantime, as I was preparing for travel a few days ago, I found this little guy lurking Crab spider 8646between the petals of one of our echinacea flowers, hoping for somebody not too much larger to land within range.  There were several small wasp-like insects that landed on this Crab spider 8618flower, but they were way too big.  I also saw a few long-legged flies that might have been potential candidates, but I didn’t see any even come close.  It’s tiny crab spider, of the Crab spider 8637family Thomisidae, and it was really shy, so I had to move very slowly and try not to get too close.  With patience, we were able to come to a satisfactory mutual agreement, at least for a few minutes.  This was June 21, the day of the summer solstice and the official start of summer. The spider was still there the next day, so I hope it was finding some success.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Webnesday (30)

  1. anitaozolins says:

    Love your macro spider shots, very nice!

  2. Patience is key with these guys. I have found that, given time, they will usually return to view once you have become part of the landscape.

  3. Mike Powell says:

    I admire the patience of both the spider and the photographers. Great captures, Gary, of this little beauty.

  4. I’m finding it hard to find time for blogging too Gary, and I’m also finding that when I do have time I’d rather read lately. That’s ok though because we know we’ll all be back at some point, and I have no problem waiting patiently. I hope you are enjoying your summer :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Yes, that’s ok for sure. I really don’t know how some of our friends manage to produce a daily blog and how some respond to a hundred or more comments on a single blog. I’m rather relieved that my site isn’t more popular, because I do try always to respond!

      • I used to get about 400 emails per day between my blog, other people’s blogs, and regular emails. It was almost impossible to keep up, so I totally understand what you are saying :).

  5. Vicki says:

    Greats images. So very sharp and great lighting too.

    • krikitarts says:

      I can’t take much credit for the lighting, except that I tried to avoid bright patches in the background from rays peeking through the big sycamore that was providing the shade.

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Great pictures, Gary – I especially like the top one. Adrian

  7. Nice macros. Love these photos

Leave a Reply

