A tisket, a tasket…

We’re back at the cabin for a week, getting ready for major renovation.  The mosquitoes have started to appear in force and the ecological clock is working well, as evidenced by the simultaneous appearance of several varieties of our best friends, the dragonflies.  The giants have not yet emerged, but there are already quite a few of their smaller cousins, and they are doing their job admirably.  I’m not certain of the taxonomy of the one that Dragonfly nymph case 10486emerged from this nymph case on a Norway pine, but I’m reasonably confident that the adult that I found drying off on one of our cedar trees is a female Spiny Baskettail Spiny baskettail 10406(Tetragoneuria spinigera).  I am fascinated by the structure of the husk of the nymph’s head (it reminds me of some of director Tim Burton’s creations) and, if time allows, before we have to leave again, I hope to find more of them and do some closer studies.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A tisket, a tasket…

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Yes, I can see the Tim Burton thing – hope you’re fine, my friend! A

  2. Mike Powell says:

    Wonderful shot, Gary, of that gorgeous dragonfly. I have been keeping my eye open for dragonfly exuviae, but have not really had much success yet. What I would really like to see, though, is a dragonfly emerging–that would be really cool.

    • krikitarts says:

      Since we’re right on the lake here, they climb onto the shore and as far uphill as they feel safe, then part way up a tree or other object. At the right time of year, we can find a dozen or so in various stages of emergence. It really is a magical wonder to behold.

  3. Vicki says:

    Great shots.
    The details are very sharp indeed.

Leave a Reply

