Webnesday (28)

Last week, on a fine late afternoon, I sat down on one of the stone walls behind the house and quietly observed the tiny jungle of foliage that grows around it.  I was hoping to catch sight of a new jumping spider or two and I was not disappointed, though they were very small and quite shy.  As I was trying to gain the confidence of one of them so that I could get close enough for a decent photo, I noticed a bit of movement nearby, and this beauty Lycosid 8442came slowly out into the relative open.  It wasn’t nearly as shy as the object of my first attention, and allowed me to lie prone and approach it inch by inch until I was able to get this full-on portrait shot.  I’m pretty sure it’s a wolf spider, of the family Lycosidae. Once again, patience rewarded (with more than a little luck as well–thanks, again, Frances).

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Webnesday (28)

  1. Mike Powell says:

    It’s funny how different individuals of the same species have varying levels of tolerance for our presence. It can sure be frustrating when one runs off to hide, but there is always hope that the next one will be more accomodating and your wonderful shot sure proves the value of persistence and patience.

    • krikitarts says:

      Funny indeed, but it gives us hope that, when one senses us and heads the other way, the next may just stick around to see what develops. And I feel that pretty much anything that provides hope is worth our time and effort.

  2. Vicki says:

    Excellent shot.

Leave a Reply

