Chronologically challenged

Ok, so I realized late yesterday that I published my first-ever Tweaking Tuesday post on Monday and my 26th Webnesday post on Tuesday.  What can I say?  I’ve considered retracting and re-posting them, but what’s the point?   All I can say, in my defense, is that I’ve been reeeally busy and keeping constant track of the exact time (and date) has not been a top priority.  The cold snap, with its accompanying snow, has abated and yesterday was somewhat warmer, less windy, and sunny, which made yard work the preferred activity.  We’ve seen our first pair of hummingbirds (no photo ops yet) and the first crane flies (family Tipulidae)–one Monday and this one perched on a jack pine stump yesterday.

Crane fly 10159I am also happy to report that we’ve had enough rain to bring the water in the lake up to its usual level. Here’s an image that I made this afternoon.

Shore 10182Compare that to this one, which I made almost exactly a month ago, when it was the lowest I’ve ever seen it, the result of  an unusually dry winter.

Shore 522Today is calm,. sunny, and much warmer–yaaay!  I’ll keep you posted.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chronologically challenged

  1. What day of the week is it ?…….I have long since given up the daily challenge (-: …….anyway some one is bound to tell you sooner or later

    • krikitarts says:

      And that was indeed the case. I was merrily going about my daily activities, having already done the Webnesday post, when I happened to mention it, and I was immediately (and kindly) set straight. One of the joys of retirement is that, for the most part, it really doesn’t matter!

  2. I’ve yet to see a crane fly this year, so I envy that. We get a few species in the yard most years.

    Good for your rain and the replenished water levels. We finally had a decent rain, although it was only heavy for a short while and a drizzle the rest of the day. Maybe a 1/4″ so not much of a replenishment.

    The other day I posted an image in the year 20115. I did correct it. :-)

    • krikitarts says:

      That does make me feel (a little) better, although your deviation from reality was merely due to a typo. At least I hope so, and that it wasn’t a subliminal wish to be suddenly transported 18,100 years into the future. I wonder what the art of photography will look like then!

      • I was going to write that “I sometimes plan my posts a month ahead, but 18,100 years early is a stretch. I can’t imagine what the world will be like then.” Then I saw that you’d anticipated me and written something quite similar, even to doing the subtraction.

      • I’ll be happy to transport myself moment by moment into the near distant future…no need for time travel.

  3. A lot of people think crane flies are huge mosquitoes. I’m glad they aren’t.

    • krikitarts says:

      I remember very well that, as boys, we and our friends always called them “giant mosquitoes.” We knew they weren’t, though, and we were glad too!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh don’t worry about posts going out on the wrong days, my friend – and certainly don’t ever think of retracting them!!! – clones that you and I are, I can be a bit like that too, but really its only our sense of order and organisation that is offended! I think we have Crane Flies here too, harmless of course – but the things to watch out for on the Somerset Levels are the Horse Flies, which really BITE!!!!! A :)

    • krikitarts says:

      We’ll have quite an array of nasties at the lake throughout the warm season. The mosquitoes were just starting to appear last week. Later will come the little biting flies, deer flies, and–of course–the dreaded horse flies. Can’t wait!

  5. Interesting looking fly. I don’t think we get this here in New Zealand. We just get lots of mosquitoes.

Leave a Reply

