Tweaking Tuesday debut

In response to a comment by one of my earliest blogging buddies, Adrian, that he made in response to my last post, this is the inaugural publication of a new category.  I am fond of experimenting with digital tools and, though I seldom venture much beyond a bit of enhancement of highlights or shadows or warmth, some images seem to be  eager for further work.  We’ve been up at our cabin in northern Minnesota for three days, in furious preparation for serious essential internal renovation in the wake of a disastrous plumbing incident last year, and I’ve had very little time to devote to the sites of those of you whom I follow, let alone to post anything new–but these fungi growing on an old stump attracted my attention yesterday, and I’m taking the time to bring them to you.  I haven’t made any radical modifications here, but it’s far enough from the original to qualify for the debut.  Stump fungi 8071Minnesota has been true to its reputation, and the weather has taken a typical turn: Today was not only windy and cold, but also brought us snow flurries.  I hope the weather will take a gentler turn before we have to leave so that I can take a leisurely turn through the woods, but we’ll see. Everyone seems to be walking around in sort of a funky daze, shaking their heads, and muttering variations of “Well, so much for spring.”  We shall see.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in A Fondness for Fungi, Tweaking Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tweaking Tuesday debut

  1. lauramacky says:

    It’s windy and cold here too. Yuck

    • krikitarts says:

      How cold is it? I’ll bet you don’t have snow (at least, for your sake, I hope not)!

      • lauramacky says:

        Well you’ll laugh but it was only 66 and foggy all day. I’m right outside San Francisco. So no snow. I’m a wimp lol.

      • krikitarts says:

        Not at all! When you’re expecting 80 and a supersaturated 66 gets delivered, there’s plenty of justification for disappointment. It’s all relative after all. Let’s be thankful that we didn’t wind up living somewhere north or south of one of the polar circles.

      • lauramacky says:

        Totally. I don’t do well in cold weather. I’ll take our “chilly” 66. :-)

  2. It is cold and miserable here in Hastings, New Zealand. At least we are going into winter. I love taking photos of fungi too. They are so interesting.

    • krikitarts says:

      I see it’s almost as cold there as it is here, so I guess you have just grounds to gripe a bit as well. Yup, the fascinating diversity in the world of the fungi seems to have few limits.

  3. Did you just swear and say the “s” word?!?! Snow should not be allowed in May. That’s just wrong! Mother Nature is a little bipolar lately though I must say. While we had a hot and humid weekend here in Ontario, I heard that Manitoba woke up to snow yesterday. And we had a cold front come through last night, so we’re probably going to have to cover the veggies in the garden tonight and bring in the hanging baskets just in case we get frost.

    • krikitarts says:

      I swear I wasn’t trying to swear when I said the “s” word, though I must admit to having uttered it. It’s not at all unexpected for May and you, too, should find it no surprise, eh? In fact, CD, who spent her youth in Minnesota, has seen it snow in every month in the calendar. There’s hope, though: In spite of yesterday’s chilly bluster, we have seen our first pair of hummingbirds!

  4. Adrian Lewis says:

    Gary, thanks for the plug >>> and I very much hope that your new Tweaking category goes very well. Moving away from reality can be a difficult thing, there is this strong, inbuilt gut feeling that photographs should reflect reality, but go for it, my friend. It is of course easier to do in black and white since that medium is already quite far removed from reality, but I’ve found Color Efex Pro 4 to be quite a handy friend when tweaking colour away from the norm. Good luck! A

    • krikitarts says:

      You’re so welcome. I have a new one planned for tomorrow that will be quite another step beyond your average reality, and I’m very much looking forward to comments!

Leave a Reply

