Flashback Friday: Street play

Shortly after I purchased my first serious camera, a Pentax Spotmatic, while studying in Berlin, I learned from a fellow student how to make a black & white print in the modest darkroom that was available in the student dormitory complex where we both had rooms. I was immediately hooked, and that was one of the founding factors in my continuing love of photography. I was intrigued by the stark contrast in conditions when I crossed over into East Berlin, and I clearly remember the day when I made this photo. I was exploring back streets, looking for anything that might catch my eye, and I rounded a corner slowly and saw these boys deeply involved in serious play. I had my secondary lens, a Takumar 135, on the camera, and I cautiously composed and shot just as they became aware of me. I only had time for one frame, and then they put on bright smiles, called their friends, and wanted to line up for a smiling group shot. I have a print of that too, but this is the one that I remember best, and I’ve been very fond of this image through all these intervening years.
E Bln street play 1-T-36The film was Kodak Tri-X, likely pushed to ISO 800, and it was the twentieth roll of film I put through the camera. And yes, I still have the negatives.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Archives, Flashback Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flashback Friday: Street play

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh, good stuff, good picture, my friend! Very spontaneous – before they had time to pose. And yet again we are similar – I had a Takumar 135 too, for use on my Praktica SLR. And I was in East Germany too, it would have been the mid 1970s, en route to Poland, and yes, it was stark. A

Leave a Reply

