Webnesday (22)

I had one more arachnid encounter in New Zealand that’s worth sharing. This is one of the most commonly-seen ones, a black-headed jumper, Trite planiceps (Trite rhymes with mighty), and I’ve posted a few photos of them previously (here & here). There’s quite a bit of variation among members of the species, the color of the abdomen ranging from yellow through green and brown to black, and I’m always excited to come across a new one.

Trite planiceps 7061They are among New Zealand’s largest jumping spiders and are highly valued by gardeners for their aid in controlling insect pests and are, by the way, quite harmless to humans.

Trite planiceps 7065In fact, I’ve seen them jump right onto the camera or my fingers on several occasions when I’ve moved in to see how close I could get. I’ve read speculations that they may be reacting to their own reflections in the front element of the lens.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Webnesday (22)

  1. Webnesday going to be a regular feature then?

    • krikitarts says:

      In a word, yes–and has been since April 2013. Of course, I can’t promise to find a new spider to pose for me each week, especially through the winter. But I’ll bring you a new one whenever I can–and sometimes when I can’t (I’ll try to find an old one once in a while, too).

  2. wolke205 says:

    Hilfeeeee…. die hat mich heute sehr erschreckt… ich wäre in Ohnmacht gefallen, wenn mir so eine auf die Finger gesprungen wäre! :D Aber Deine Fotos sind wie immer super :)

    • krikitarts says:

      Ich halte es für ein Kompliment wenn so eine mich so vertraut, daβ sie mich näher kennenlernen möchte. Freut mich auch, daβ Dir die Fotos gefallen, selbst wenn sie nicht gerade Deine Lieblingstypen sind!

  3. Your macro shots are absolutely amazing, I love the detail you captured.

    • krikitarts says:

      What a nice compliment! It’s grand fun trying to see how close they will let me get before they move back out of range–or jump onto the camera. It’s also a great exercise in patience, very much like a meditation experience at times. Also, if they happen to be at waist-level or lower, some sort of seat (or knee cushion) is an almost absolute requirement.

Leave a Reply

