Silly Saturday: See no weevil

Surely you’ll tolerate a little more wordplay…

While in New Zealand last month and visiting old friends in Wanganui, I was out in their garden trying to take up a challenge to photograph some rather large flies in mid-flight. One landed on a grape leaf and as I was slowly stalking it, it flew away, but just as it did, I became aware of another, much-smaller insect on an adjacent leaf that I had not noticed at all because of my concentration on the fly.

Weevil 6155I’ve tried to train myself to stay aware of all that’s going on around me—the big picture, if you will—but I often find myself too distracted by the moment’s apparent main attraction. And so I’ve come to value reminders such as this one, and as a result, I consider these unexpected opportunities to be gifts.

Weevil 6125The weevils, I have learned, are among the most numerous varieties of insects on earth—in fact, there are some 60,000 species, most of which belong to the family Curculionidae, and I’d like to try to put a name to this one, but I just don’t have the time to research that just now. Anyway, here are a couple of memories of my brief but intimate encounter with this little one (less than a centimeter long). Glad I saw it, after all!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Silly Saturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Silly Saturday: See no weevil

  1. Weevils are cool….just not on cotton.

  2. Mike Powell says:

    I’m always a fan of what one of my friends likes to call “bonus bugs,” though she usually reserves that term for bugs that show up in the photos that you find only when reviewing the photos. It’s amazing how focused we can become on a particular subject that we block out the rest of the “big picture.” I struggle to retain a broader sense of awareness, but it’s tough. As for word plays and puns, keep them coming–I am convinced that there is no point at which I grow weary of them.

    • krikitarts says:

      I’ve taken note of the term quite some time ago and have adopted it as well. It’s rather surprising how often they appear–or actually, maybe not, for those of us who love to study the little folk up close and with as much detail as we can get. Funny–I’ve been thinking recently about trips I’ve made to Ireland and Scotland, reflecting on the lovely landscapes, fabulous flowers, and marvelous music, and if my ancestors were from there, I might have adopted a blog name something like Mr. MacRo.

  3. seekraz says:

    What a beautiful, little life…well-captured, Gary.

Leave a Reply

