Faerie forest, Part One

On our way back to Auckland from our weekend in Leigh (highlighted in my last post), we made a stop for one more surprise. I’d come close to it a number of times during my years of international travel, but had never stopped in before. But Batty and Squiddy had taken CD there last year and she was pretty sure I’d enjoy it. It’s called the Zealandia Sculpture Garden and is near the town of Warkworth. It had just been sold to an investor from Australia but was still in operation a few weeks ago. The sculptures were very interesting Zealandia sculpture 6747(here’s one of them with most of the New Zealand family contingent), but I found myself most captivated by the setting, which bordered on a forest of kauri trees (Agathis australis), a lovely species of ancient conifer. Kauri forest 6684They used to be quite common in the country, but the vast majority were felled for lumber during early European settlement. Some large ones are still to be found in reserves, particularly in the Waipoua Forest. The oldest is estimated at 2,000 years and the trunk of the largest is 4.4 meters in diameter. (I visited it two years ago and posted a report about the experience). Though there were no real giants among this stand, in which magical faerie folk seemed to be watching us, just out of sight, a fairly-gentle walking path led to a small platform that provided a good view of one of the largest. Kauri forest 6760For the second and third photos, I’ve found myself inspired by fellow blogger Laura Macky’s recent post (Inner Beauty) to try a Photoshop filter (Oil Paint) that I haven’t used before, and hope that you like the results. I don’t do this often, but it helped to convey some of the magic that I felt in this very special place.  [Be sure to click on a photo for a larger image with better detail.]

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Faerie forest, Part One

  1. lauramacky says:

    Very fun! I wish I were there right now! Glad I could inspire your creativity!! I’m honored, :-)

  2. Vicki says:

    Yes, those kauris are amazing. So straight and growing so close together.

    Love the shot of the family peeping out from behind the sculpture.

  3. I just love that first photo. It made me giggle seeing them peeking out from behind the sculpture :).

    • krikitarts says:

      You should have heard The Elf (talk about giggling!) and seen her face as she encountered each new sculpture. There are really some unforgettable ones–be sure to check out the link that I included in the text.

  4. The sculptures are just fascinating…Love the photos that includes the children enjoying the garden.

    • krikitarts says:

      The garden was designed with children in mind, I’m sure. Please check out the link to the place–you can see more of the sculptures there. Many have different faces when viewed from different angles. Quite haunting!

  5. Love the first shot….great for family memories to come

  6. Meanderer says:

    Delightful, Gary. Love the first image!

Leave a Reply

