Webnesday (20)

I’ve been in New Zealand for almost two weeks and I’ve been very involved with family stuff (all good) and have had little time to devote to my website. But this afternoon Batty called me out into the garden to see a spider that she had spotted on the trunk of a mid- sized yucca (family Asparagaceae) and I just have to share her with you.

Eriophora pustulosa 6617I’ve been doing quite a bit of research and believe I’ve successfully identified her as a garden orbweb spider, Eriophora pustulosa. It took me a while to see her because she blended in so well with the structure on which she had constructed her egg sac.

Eriophora pustulosa 6576This species is an immigrant from Australia, likely carried across on the jet stream, and is now pretty common here–though it’s the first I’ve seen in my many visits, probably thanks to the very-effective camouflage.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Webnesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Webnesday (20)

  1. Mike Powell says:

    Spiders in January? Oh, my. Wonderful shots, Gary, of a really unusual and very cool-looking spider. I had to look multiple times at the first image to spot the spider. What great camouflage!

  2. That second photograph makes me think this is a Cyclops among spiders.

    • krikitarts says:

      The eyes, though there are eight, are extremely small, for sure. But then again, since she’s an orb-weaver, she doesn’t need acute vision to locate her prey, as do the active hunters. I like the idea, though. Thanks, Steve!

  3. Wow, Gary, that is what I call camouflage!! I had no idea where it was at first.

  4. Very hard to spot indeed. Great photos. :)

  5. Vicki says:

    Great shot and as you say, very hard to spot. I don’t think I would have seen it at all.
    Good to hear you’re enjoying your holiday. Hope it’s not too hot over in NZ.

    • krikitarts says:

      Nah, it’s been nothing short of delightful. I’m being whisked off to an unknown destination for a mystery weekend of adventure tomorrow, though, and who knows what’s in store?

  6. Pingback: Webnesday (22) | krikitarts

Leave a Reply

