Melancholy Monday: Gamla and the S. of G.

The meteorologists say that the days are getting longer and, being a scientific person, I believe them, but a part of me looks out the window and takes note of the dropping temperatures, the gray skies, the freezing sleet, and the howling winds, and my three days of aloneness (CD’s visiting her sister) help to prompt me to another Melancholy Monday post. Don’t worry—I’m not really depressed or fully alone (my fabulous cat Leo is sitting across my shoulders and purring as I write this), but I find myself reflecting on warmer times and places. I have a small cache of photos that I’ve set aside for consideration for posts, and as I perused them, one of them reminded me of this scene, which is set in my memory from a trip that I made to Israel in May 2008. A colleague invited me for a drive in the country on this scorching day, which included a stop at this unforgettable point.

Gamla 1146The ancient hillside ruins on the left are all that’s left of the village of Gamla. The body of water that you can see just over the head of the globe thistle on the right is the Sea of Galilee. As the New Year approaches, warm wishes to you all!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Gamla and the S. of G.

  1. Vicki says:

    And to you too, Gary. Love your composition. Having those dry bushes in the foreground seems to increase the temperature of the scene.
    Surprisingly, your photo reminds me of a particular pass I used to drive through on the way up to central Victoria many years ago.

    • krikitarts says:

      You are certainly quite familiar with the baking temperatures of summer in some places. On this occasion, objects in the distance were definitely shimmery. One such day that I remember particularly well in Broken Hill, NSW, when it was 43 C / 109.4 F in the shade. It sure would be nice to be able to step suddenly into that (for a few minutes, at least)!

  2. Happy New Year my friend!!! Here’s hoping it’s full of good health and happiness :).

  3. Meanderer says:

    What a beautiful place, Gary.

    Yes – although a few days on from the Winter Solstice, ‘real’ Winter seems to have set in. The days are still short, and the temperatures have chilled well down. January is a difficult month after the festivities and colourful lights of December. It is also a wonderful time to slow down and reflect – something our ancestors would have done in their way during this season.

    All the best to you and yours for the New Year, Gary.

    • krikitarts says:

      I find myself reflecting on the thoughts and feelings of our ancestors in this season as well. Mine were all from Norway, and we find it valuable to reflect upon and reconstruct traditions that they would likely have upheld. I’m right with you on the value of slowing down and reflection. There seems to be far too little time for this as time seems to speed up for us. We must learn to savor the magic of the fleeting moments and not to take them for granted. May the New Year bring us increased awareness and appreciation for these transient gifts.

  4. seekraz says:

    It rather looks like the Mountain West. Have a peaceful holiday, Gary.

  5. When I saw the land in your picture my immediate reaction was that it was west Texas (I didn’t initially see the water in the distance that might belie that impression).

    Happy almost New Year.

    • krikitarts says:

      I didn’t know that there are landscapes like this in Texas, but I’m not that surprised, as there are vast areas of Texas with which I am not familiar. Are there globe thistles there? I don’t think I’d ever seen them until I visited Israel. Happy almost New Year!

      • From what I’ve just read online, globe thistles are native to the Old World. Some other species of Eurasian thistles have made their way to Texas, but I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a globe thistle here.

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    I’m glad to hear that you’re not really melancholy, my friend – a very good New Year to you and your’s! Adrian

    • krikitarts says:

      There’s certainly a touch of melancholy, but CD made the drive home in good shape and we have a new, sweet foster dog for a few days, and in spite of way-sub-freezing temperatures, a fire is burning and optimism is flowing freely!

Leave a Reply

