A touch of gold

During our road trip across the western U.S. last month, my first stop for a landscape shot was just south of Oberlin, Kansas as we drove past this country road leading off to the east. Oberlin gold 3667Most of the foliage we were seeing was presenting us with varying shades dull brown and gray, so this dramatic cottonwood was a most refreshing sight, and the old windmill added an extra element of interest.

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A touch of gold

  1. seekraz says:

    Very nice…and not unlike some middle-Utah scenery….

    • krikitarts says:

      I’m thinking the cottonwoods must have provided some support for the sanity of the early settlers traveling through the plains. The cottonwood is, in fact, the only tree native to Nebraska.

      • seekraz says:

        I can’t imagine living on the plains, even rolling ones, without some type of tree around me…so yes, I can imagine that those native cottonwoods would have provided some support for the settlers’ sanity. ;)

  2. That tree is a welcome element in the landscape, I am sure. I’ve often heard that driving through this part of the country can be quite monotonous. But I have seen some nice images made by Kansas photographers.
    I love that road….just tire paths.

    • krikitarts says:

      I love looking down the side roads less-traveled, and the cottonwood and old windmill jumped out at me as extra elements of interest. We were going at highway speeds and the tree was just barely visible behind a rise–and I just had to stop and go back for a better look.

  3. Mike Powell says:

    There are so many elements of this shot that I really like, Gary–the tree (of course), the rutted road, the sliver of sky at the top, the windmill, the fence. I have never driven across that part of the country, but you’ve shown it can be quite photogenic.

    • krikitarts says:

      I spent the better part of a year in Manhattan, KS back in 1977 and I came to appreciate and enjoy the gentle beauty of the Flint Hills and the stark, angular relief provided by the cottonwoods.

  4. Meanderer says:

    What a wonderful sight!

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    That’s a striking landscape, Gary, I like that very much! Adrian

Leave a Reply

