Black Canyon, Part 1

I recently mentioned our memorable road trip from Omaha to the west coast and back and, as time allows, I’ll be bringing you some of my favorite photographic memories. While driving on US 50 through Colorado, we made a detour to take in the Black Canyon of the Gunnison River. I’d found it on the map and noted it as a potential point of interest, but I don’t think I’d ever heard of it before. In my opinion, it is worthy of much more attention, and I’d love to return again some day. I’ll start with two views from one of the first overlook trails that we walked into from the main drive through the park.

Black Canyon 3833Black Canyon 3854

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Black Canyon, Part 1

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    I am looking forward to seeing more of your photos of Black Canyon. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve heard of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison but haven’t ever been there. On our September trip we got as close as the San Juan National Forest but emphasized the southwest corner of Colorado. It’s good to hear your positive report: one more place to keep in reserve for future exploring. I like the scraggly tree on the rock ledge in your second photo.

  3. seekraz says:

    Beautiful, Gary…I’ve been on the US 50 in Colorado, but never in this area…I’d like to go there, as well. :)

  4. Look forward to the next instalment (s)…….

  5. settleandchase says:

    Love that last one! Would make a fantastic album cover I reckon!

Leave a Reply

