Melancholy Monday: Feathery fountain

One of the best parts about being back at home again is that the autumn changes are in considerably earlier stages than was the case in northern Minnesota. One of the plants in our garden that I greatly enjoy following through its many stages is the fountain grass (Pennisetum). It is especially lovely, in my eyes, at this particular time of year, particularly when backlit by the low sun late in the day, and I find myself contemplate my own life stages, especially when another birthday has just slipped by, and hope that I can maintain a similar degree of grace for a good while yet.

Pennisetum 3467

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Melancholy Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Melancholy Monday: Feathery fountain

  1. I am absolutely sure that you will have no problem with that goal :). Happy Belated Birthday by the way my friend!!

  2. Vicki says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Gary.

    Love the image. Grass is such a beautiful sight at this time of day. In fact, I think many photographers (and people) overlook the simple shapes and way it sways in the breeze. I’ve very fond of the Purple Fountain Grass myself. It seems to change colour depending on the time of day.

    • krikitarts says:

      Grasses are among the most basic, reliable, and essential plants on earth, and they deserve much more attention than they are usually given. The fountain grasses are in a very special category, and they have captured my attention and imagination in many of the countries I’ve visited.

  3. settleandchase says:

    Lovely. I planted a few grasses in the garden last year and I really love them! Great all year round, and always moving and catching the light..(though unfortunately we have two new naughty kittens who have decided to leap in them the past few weeks, I’m hoping they will survive!)

  4. krikitarts says:

    I never tire of the many moods of the grasses and the way they flirt with varying lighting conditions. I hope the kittens have survived and are doing well! Do you have a new website now? The one I have for you apparently no longer exists. Did I miss the transmission? If so, please update me!

Leave a Reply

