Leaving again

Autumn is very slow to show us any signs of the color changes we anticipate. Our river birches are still full green, though slightly more pale, with no hint of the brilliant yellow that we’ve come to expect. The leaves on only one branch of our big oak are getting yellow-orange, and only a very few that have fallen from our giant silver maple are showing hints of pink and orange, and nearly all of the ones that have fallen show only yellowing.

Early October maple 1612This may be my last post for a while (maybe a couple of weeks), as I’m leaving to go back up to the cabin tomorrow for a week of music with the boys in my band, and CD will join me for another week after that for a final fall visit and to do the end-of-season tasks to get it ready for winter. I’m very much looking forward to both and will report on our adventures as time allows, so stay tuned. And I fully expect the peak autumn color to bless us while we’re there!

About krikitarts

Welcome to Krikit Arts! I'm a veterinarian; photographer; finger-style guitarist, composer, instructor, and singer/songwriter; fisherman; and fly-tyer. Please enjoy--and please respect my full rights to all photos on this Website!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Leaving again

  1. wolke205 says:

    Have a good time <3

  2. Vicki says:

    Sounds like the perfect 2 week break. Have a great time and enjoy the Autumn colour (I hope it appears). Look forward to seeing some images if the leaves have changed. You get such magnificent Autumn leaf colour over your way.

  3. Have a blast my friend :).

    • krikitarts says:

      Ah, Cindy, I know you understand. How’s your color up there? I checked the forecast for the next week, and frost at night is a good possibility, so they could pop for us. I hope all is well with you!

      • The colour is progressing nicely; however, it is supposed to pour rain all weekend which will probably spoil all my photo opportunities. Cross your fingers that the weather forecast changes :).

  4. zannyro says:

    Wishing you lots of fall color!

  5. Thanks to a jaunt through southwestern Colorado two weeks ago I had an early encounter with fall foliage that was especially welcome for someone who lives in a climate that’s too warm to yield much autumn color.

Leave a Reply

